Skip to content

Christmas Stockings

December 18, 2011

Laura’s Blog Entry

It’s been a whirlwind of making around here. I’ve been very busy with the knitted coasters for my Etsy shop, but in between knitting sessions I managed to make some new Christmas stockings. I’ve wanted to replace our old ones for years. Neil and I both have continued to use our childhood stockings; we’ll save them forever, but I wanted a nice matching set for the fireplace.

See? Much better! And yes, we do have a Captain America movie poster over the fireplace. Thanks for asking!

I did an extensive internet search to find the right free pattern to use. I finally settled on this one from Fabricworm. It has a template you can print on 8 1/2 x 11 sheets of paper and then piece together.

I wanted a specific shape and proportion. Not too skinny. These also have a nice weight and structure to them because they include a layer of cotton batting inside. The finishing touch is a nice contrasting inner lining.

I found a silky “suiting” fabric on clearance that I used to line them. For the main fabrics I used nice quilting cotton.

These should be around another good 40 years on our mantle!

Are you doing any holiday crafting?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2011 1:44 pm

    Love the festivities, the house looks so cosy and christmassy. Have a lovely break xxx

    • December 28, 2011 6:30 pm

      Thanks, Andrew! We’ve been offline for a bit for the holidays. Enjoying our break for sure! Hope you are doing the same!

Leave a Reply

