Skip to content

Music Give-Away: Shiny and the Spoon

October 10, 2011

Laura’s Blog Entry

COMMENTS ON THIS POST ARE NOW CLOSED. THANKS, EVERYONE!

Hey kids! We are happy to announce that Shiny and the Spoon have given us a copy of their new album Ferris Wheel to give away. Neil did a review of it recently. We like it a lot.

Here’s a little taste to wet your whistle. The song “Bread and Butter.”


Lots more like that, plus a fresh version of their fun cover of A-ha’s “Take on Me.”

So how can you win this lovely CD, you may ask? How about you tell me the name of your favorite album of all time in the comments. Feel free to share why it is your favorite. 

Comments will close Sunday, October 16, 2011. I will announce a winner on October 17. Winner will be chosen by a random number generator. Good luck, everyone!

3 Comments
  1. October 10, 2011 8:07 pm

    Thomas Dolby’s “The Flat Earth”. It has so many styles and my favorite track is his cover of “I Scare Myself”. Sadly most people only know the song “Hyperactive” from this album. It is probably the most played album in my collection. I think I’ll listen to it now!

  2. October 10, 2011 8:22 pm

    Gosh, how to answer…my favorite album of all time. I feel compelled to answer with something impressive and smart like one of Frank Zappas many albums, or perhaps something by The Beatles or Depeche Mode or David Bowie. Possibly something left of center like the red and blue Stereolab album ‘The Last of the Microbe Hunters’ or Blue Train by Coltrane or an album by The Reverend (Al Green). But as I stall here, in a major way, by listing some of my all time faves, my major choice is between: Weird Al Yankovich’s Fat, which I love, because it’s the very first record I ever bought with my own money on the very first trip I ever made to the record store with my Dad, The Cure’s The Cure, which I got as a gift from my first step-brother and was the very first CD I ever owned and still love to bits and play (f-i-r-e-i-n-c-a-i-r-o…) regularly, and Tom Waits’ Nighthawks at the Diner which is the very first Tom Waits album I ever listened to. I think I have to go with Nighthawks as my favorite album because it really is an album by which I mean that it’s best listened to as a whole piece of music. I love that it tells a story, well many stories and that it creates its’ own distinct atmosphere. It is almost always the perfect thing to listen to in the car, driving through the city at night, or an empty stretch of highway around indistinct clumps of suburbia. You can listen to the songs independently of one another however something gets a bit lost when the album is broken down to it’s many parts. Waits seems to take this gestaltish approach to many of his works and frankly, it’s one of the reasons why I’ve collected almost all of his albums over the years. Himself and I always joke that the best album newly released is the one that was made by Tom Waits. So without question, Nighthawks at the Diner by Tom Waits is my favorite album of all time.

  3. October 10, 2011 8:45 pm

    Favorite album, huh? My gut reaction is STRAY by Aztec Camera. The title track, I feel, was something Roddy Frame wrote after he telepathically stumbled across my thoughts. I’ve never had a song that I felt more than that one. The rest of the album is stellar, too.

Comments are closed.

