Skip to content

Striped Afghan

September 23, 2011

Laura’s Blog Entry

Finished object! Finished object! This has actually been done for a while, but took a bit to get it washed and blocked and photographed. I’m pretty excited to have a new couch potato blanket for our lounging needs. Winter is coming, Ya’ll. And the fall TV season is starting up. That says big old blanket to me!

I economically used up many partial balls of Cotton Ease yarn for this project. It is a nice cotton blend with bold stitch definition. It also has a nice hand and is pleasant to work with. I ended up using a total of eight colors that seemed to coordinate. It’s pretty bright for my generally subdued color palette, but it looks nice with our sofa, so I can live with it.

The pattern is free from lionbrand.com. It’s pretty easy and alternates between single and double crochet.

It’s nice to have this finished. I’ve got lots of other things on the needles that need attention. There’s a rather challenging gift item that is nearing the finishing point, a pair of rockin’ red socks, some arm warmers out of a lovely black and grey natural alpaca, and finally a scarf for out little Ravenclaw. Anyone else out there itching to get on Pottermore? Mari is a  beta tester and it sounds really fun. I’ve always dreamed of attending Hogwarts and now I can! I’ll blend right in with the kids, don’t you think? (Affirmative answers only need respond.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2011 5:20 am

    I like your Afghan, it’s beautiful and simple, so cosy! What hook number/size did you use?

  2. September 23, 2011 11:24 am

    This is so lovely!

Leave a Reply

