Skip to content

Master Lists

September 13, 2011

Laura’s Blog Entry

Anyone else feel all organizational in the fall? Something about cooler weather and school starting makes me want to put things in order. Today I thought I would share with you something that has saved me from sadness and weeping, not to mention countless trips to the store for things I have forgotten or didn’t realize I needed.

I’m kinda big on systems. Like my mail processing system. Or my menu planning system.

Well the latest system that has developed is a Master List system.

I have compiled a checklist of everything we buy on a regular basis – the pantry staples. Each week after I make my menu plan and grocery list I do a quick inventory of these items and see what we might be low on. This has saved us so many trips to run back for something that was forgotten.

It has worked so well for the food that I did a few other master lists: one for discount/stock up shopping (cosmetics, paper towels, toilet paper, etc.), one for Trader Joe’s and one for Whole Foods. There are just certain things I can only get at one  place and if I go there I want to check everything I might need and drive there only once.

I keep the lists in plastic sleeves right on my recipe holder, along with my recipes for that week’s meal plan. I don’t take this list to the store. I just use it as a guide while I am writing out my list for the week.

For a long time I resisted doing this because I didn’t want to take the time to type it up, but it is very much worth the time investment. If you want to go over the top you can arrange your list by category and even by store floor plan. Not that I know anyone who would do that!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

