Skip to content

Summer Reading 2011

July 12, 2011

Laura’s Blog Entry

Missing from the pile is The Girl Who Kicked a Hornet’s Nest. I hope to start that today on the iPad. The knitting and baking books are just for flipping through. There are also a few favorites I can’t wait to revisit – the Miss Read series, starting with Village School and The Cat Who… series starting with The Cat Who Could Read Backwards. Pure silly, brainless reading. Yay! That should balance out The Well Trained Mind, which frankly kind of scares me.

Got any books on your reading list this summer? I don’t expect to read all of these, but this is the stack that I plan to attack. I have already read two of them, so it’s off to a good start!  The Forgotten Garden (Good!) and The Accidental Creative (Fantastic!) are already finished.

[If you want to read my review of The Accidental Creative, here’s a link to my thoughts.]

In tech news, I switched over to Goodreads for my book tracking. More friends there, and a better interface. That’s what it’s all about after all. Shelfari was pretty but not that functional. Too bad. Sigh. Next thing you know I’ll be on Google+ [Whoops… too late…]

Anyway, if you aren’t familiar with Goodreads, here’s a link.

If you want to friend me here’s a link to my profile.

It is a very handy place to keep track of books that I hear about. I was forever jotting them on pieces of paper and then forgetting about it. Now I have an ongoing list to remind me.

OK, time for a reading break and a glass of Blue Eyes iced tea. Bliss.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2011 5:59 pm

    Hey Laura!
    Funny that you mention the Miss Read books. When I was in Raleigh this spring my Gram was telling me how much she and my aunt LOVED them. I started to read the Village School and Thrush Green but alas, I couldn’t get into either one! However, the settings and the characters were really charming, I just wasn’t in the mood for that type of imagery. I think it was poor reading timing on my part. You know how it is when you’re not in the mood for a particular genre…I may try again in the Fall.

    I did just finish The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan and The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan. All were fun, well, the Michael Pollan wasn’t “fun” per se but it was interesting. now I’m into The Sex Lives of Cannibals by J. Maarten Troost which is hilarious!

    • July 14, 2011 7:44 pm

      Hello! Long time no see! I loved The Graveyard Book. I started the Miss Read series on audio books. That is most enjoyable! Makes it even more British. You might try that and see if you get into it more. You do have to be in the right mood for the right book. That is very true. I’ll have to check out some of the others you mentioned. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

