Skip to content

In Process 02

April 7, 2011

Laura’s Blog Entry

So remember when there was much pining around here for spring? Yeah. Well, it’s here in all its allergic glory. I have not had symptoms this bad in years. Bleh. But the temps in the 70’s? I’ll take it!

I am managing to get some knitting done, little by little.

This is a ribbed shawl I’ve been working on for quite awhile. I bought the yarn to make the Clapotis, an oversize “Parisian-style” (whatever that means) scarf/shawl.

That just didn’t cut it for me. My brain was just not ready for that pattern. It starts in the corner of the shawl with just a few stitches and evolves on the diagonal. Despite stitch markers, I kept messing it up, so I decided to do something else.

I swatched and swatched. I must have started four or five times on things. I finally decided on a simple three by three rib shawl. It shows off the color changes nicely.

My only real challenge is that the yarn begins pooling eventually. I thought I had a good width that didn’t cause pooling, but the pattern shifted over time and I got larger splotches of purple and green. No problem. I just alternate two balls of yarn until those start to pool and then I go back to one ball. Kind of strange, but it is giving me the look I want.

This is my only mindless project at the moment so it has been getting the most attention. It goes to guitar lessons and anywhere else I might get in some knitting.

The yarn I’m using is Knit-Picks Imagination Handpainted Sock Yarn in the Wicked Witch colorway. I love the colors but it is subtle enough to fit right into my mostly black wardrobe. Fingers crossed there will be enough left so I can make a cute pair of socks out of this as well!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

