Skip to content

Denim Throw

March 31, 2011

Laura’s Blog Entry

We take couch potato-ness pretty seriously around here. We nap like champs (OK, Neil and I do… well, at least I do) and the blankets on our sofa get a good workout, winter, spring, summer or fall. I’ve got to have a blanket.

The current ones are positively threadbare. So it’s another excuse to make something. I’ve been stockpiling Neil’s old jeans for years, waiting for the perfect project. And this is it! The denim is worn in, but still very sturdy and should hold up to the repeated washings that are necessary in a cat household.

I don’t want to mess around forever on this so I am cutting large squares for a 6×6 base. Why cut these pants into tiny pieces and then sew them all back together? I guess that’s what all quilting is, but for some reason I’m not into the piecing this time. Could be the hexagon quilt I am doing by hand that is slower than molasses. Maybe.

Once I’ve got the quilt top done I can choose a cute backing fabric and contrast binding. Ba-da-bing, ba-da-boom. Done.

After I cut about 80 more squares that is.

Oh and my helper isn’t exactly helping. I sometimes call him Meatloaf because when he sits in this position, I swear I could scoop him right into a loaf pan and he would fit perfectly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2011 2:41 pm

    Looking good…..looks like you have several different blues to make an interesting pattern. I understand about wanting an easy project to sort of offset the hard one you’re working on. Your cat already approves.

    • April 1, 2011 3:30 pm

      Yes! I have sorted all the jeans by color. I saw a few denim quilts online that worked in some black denim and I liked that look. Can’t wait to lay them all out and choose the color order. I am such a color geek!

Leave a Reply

