Skip to content

Callie Cardigan

March 22, 2011

Laura’s Blog Entry

Presenting, just in time for 70 degree temperatures, the Callie Cardigan! Made from the lovely Cascade 220 wool, in color 4002 Jet (which I love, love, love) it will be nice and cozy… next winter.

That’s OK. When I started this I never thought I would be finishing it in two months. It is a very quick knit. Or perhaps I am getting faster. Or both. It is a top-down design, which makes everything easier. The body is knit back and forth in once piece, and then the arms are knit in place.

I really researched this on Ravelry before I started. I could tell by the waist-shaping and the v-neck that it would be a flattering silhouette for me. I did lengthen it by 1 1/2 inches. I usually lengthen my sweaters. Here’s the link to my Ravelry project page with all the details.

You can see the nice waist-shaping in this photo.

It has some lovely details. Like the picot edging at the bottom. I’ve never done that before and it turned out pretty cool. This next photo shows the true color of the yarn most closely. Dark heathery gray is pretty hard to photograph.

It also has my former enemy, seed stitch, on the cuffs and button band. Seed stitch and I get along great now. It was my first button band and it turned out pretty nicely.

I found buttons that match exactly in color. I wanted them to blend in.

I’ve already been dreaming about another sweater. I’m eyeing a drapey little number made of lace weigh yarn that can be tied in front. It would be sweet for yoga… better start figuring out where in the budget that is gonna come from…

No comments yet

Leave a comment