Skip to content

Your Favorite Movie Says A Lot About You

March 17, 2011

Laura’s Blog Entry

Quite a few years ago I attended a conference and was struck by one of the speakers. His name was John Eldredge and he was talking about his book, Epic.* I was totally fascinated with his conclusion that the stories we read as books and watch as movies all have the same elements. Like romantic relationships, adventure, overcoming the odds, and good versus evil, for example.

The thing that really got me was that he said if you look at your favorite movies, the ones you like to watch again and again, you can gain insight into who you are and where you heart is.

I thought about two of my favorite films, which seemingly couldn’t be any more different, and was astounded that they both tell the same story.

The first film is Slaves of New York. It’s a 1989 film based on the novel by Tama Janowitz. It is the story of a quirky young woman, Eleanor,  who lives in the art scene of New York City in the 1980’s. I love this movie for so many reasons. The setting, the characters, the clever dialog, the happy ending. And Steve Buscemi. Who doesn’t love a movie with Steve Buscemi?

The second film is the 1940 Alfred Hitchcock thriller, Rebecca. This is the story of a young woman who escapes a dismal life as a paid companion by marrying a wealthy widower. They move to his huge English mansion and then the mystery and intrigue begins. It’s British, in black and white, and has George Sanders in the cast. Perfection!

Anyway, these movies don’t seem to have too much in common, do they? Well, in fact they do. In Slaves of New York, The woman is searching for who she really is, and through her struggle finds her own true voice. In Rebecca the woman transforms from a meek and timid girl into a strong woman who supports her husband in a crisis and fights for their life together.

They are both about women who find out who they are and gain the confidence to stand up for what they believe. Hmmm. Interesting. This just might parallel the life of someone who writes this blog. I’m just sayin’.

This realization was an important step for me – to really understand my own story and to own it. I love these movies because they both tell my story. So the question is, what’s your story? I’d love to hear about your favorite films in the comments and also how you think that film relates to your personal story.

And on a related note, what does it mean that the movie The Big Lebowski is growing on me? I’m kind of afraid to dig deeper into that one, folks. It could involve years of therapy to fully explore that can of worms, I fear.

*Epic is also about some other deeply spiritual issues and if reading about that stuff is your thing, I do recommend it.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 8:17 am

    Oh dear… what do Harold & Maude and Notting Hill say? I guess love conquers all… what a sap I am. 🙂

  2. Melanie Moore permalink
    March 17, 2011 4:34 pm

    Let’s see….my favorite books are To Kill a Mockingbird, Secret Life of Bees and Time Traveler’s Wife. My favorite movies are Rebecca, Holiday and It’s a Wonderful Life (I know cheezy). Ok, Psychologist Laura, do your stuff, interpret!

    • March 17, 2011 5:10 pm

      You are an open book, my dear! Not really, but I would say good vs. evil plays a big part in your story. With a healthy dose of love conquers all as well. BTW, I now have Holiday at the top of my list, thanks to you. I’ve seen it twice and man, is that a good one! It’s also about a woman finding her own voice. Imagine that?

  3. March 17, 2011 8:49 pm

    At the moment I’m impressed by Mark Watson’s book ‘Eleven’. It is about the consequences of one person’s actions, and inaction, and how they both impact many people, people that this person doesn’t even know. Throughout the book, strangers are linked to and affect other characters in some way.

    It also has a happy ending seeing the main character work through a devastating moment in his past that took all meaning from his life, to finding someone just right for him and looking forward to the future: but mostly I think it is about consequences.

    • March 18, 2011 6:43 am

      Wow, that one covers all the bases with a nice emphasis on the hero’s journey. Sounds like it scratches every archetypal itch!

  4. July 20, 2011 1:05 am

    i know i’m late on this one of my friends sent it to me 🙂
    Hmmm My favorite books are Pride and Prejudice and Little Women and my favorite movies are Where the Heart Is, Anastasia and Breakfast At Tiffany’s. I’ve got an odd combination

    • July 24, 2011 3:02 pm

      No one is ever too late to this party! I’d have to dig into it, bit I think the themes of your books and moves might have more in common than you think.

Leave a Reply

