Skip to content

Celtic Cables

March 14, 2011

Laura’s Blog Entry

I fell in love with these socks immediately when my niece-in-law (is that even a real term? I think not.) got me the book Knitted Sock Sensations by Louise Butt & Kirstie McLeod. Thus began a quest for the elusive yarn shown in the pattern, Elle Mexican Wave DK in color 058 Blue Rush. I could not find this yarn ANYWHERE. Generally I substitute yarns all the time, but I loved the subtle color changes from a seafoam green to a periwinkle to a violet in the sample pair. It was perfect for this pattern.

Then one day I was at a local yarn shop and spotted Jojoland Melody Superwash. The color MS29 has a similar long color change. It is in tones of sage green and purple, and I loved it immediately. Because this yarn is a fine sock weight, I tested it doubled and got gauge on size 4 needles. I did end up knitting the small size sock when usually I would be a medium, but that is the only deviation.

The two socks don’t match exactly, but for once I am OK with that. I love the soft coloration. I’m especially glad I can wear these with boots and let them peek out the top. They won’t be hidden like most of my other socks.

I did find an error in the cable pattern. Kinda jazzed that I figured out what was wrong all on my own. There was no errata out there that I could find. I spelled out the problem on my Ravelry project page for anyone else who is struggling with this.

And speaking of the cables… I love the cable detail around the top. It turns a plain sock into something special.

So despite the yarn challenges, there is a happy ending for this project. Unlike the pair of socks I am working on now. I gave the Snicket Socks (a tiny cabled pattern that makes oval designs) my best shot, but the patterning on such tiny needles made me absolutely insane. I am going to use this opportunity to try a vanilla sock pattern I’ve been wanting to try. It’s Laura Chau’s Basic Top Up Sock. Of course this project will compete with doing the button band on my cardigan. I got all the stitches picked up along the edge (Can you say mind-numbing?)  and I am waiting for a moment of full brain capacity before I attempt it.

Still waiting for that to happen. (Tick, tock. Tick, tock.)

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 15, 2011 7:04 am

    alo que yo veo semira bien con botas

Leave a Reply

