Skip to content

Quinoa with Roasted Tomatoes and Spinach

January 12, 2011

Laura’s Blog Entry

I put together this grain and vegetable dish for my lunches this week. It is quite yummy. Although I think it needs just a little something else. My guess is that some feta crumbled over the top would be perfect. I am off the dairy this week or I would have tried it. I’m open to other suggestions, so let me know if you think of something else to add.

If you are not familiar with Quinoa, (pronounced KEEN-wha) it is a grain-like product that can function like a cereal or rice. It is very nutritious and contains a healthy dose of protein. It is also the name of a 1992 album by Tangerine Dream. But I digress.

Here’s the basic recipe:

Quinoa with Roasted Tomatoes and Spinach

1/2 cup uncooked quinoa
1/2 pint of grape tomatoes
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 large clove of garlic, minced
olive oil
salt and pepper
2 cups fresh spinach leaves, packed into measuring cup

Cook quinoa per package instructions. I like to use my rice cooker.

In the meantime, preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place tomatoes, onion and garlic in a shallow baking dish. Drizzle with a bit of olive oil. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast for 15 minutes.

Remove pan from oven and give everything a good toss. At the same time, stir in the spinach leaves. The final cooking time will wilt it down.

Continue cooking an additional 15 minutes or until tomatoes are softened and beginning to shrivel and the onion is translucent.

Mix the cooked quinoa with the vegetables and you are all set. Makes approximately three main-dish size servings.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

