Skip to content

Handmade Christmas – Part 3

December 31, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

The final installment is a pair of mittens for Mari. I call them the Owl City Mittens.

I used the free pattern Owl Mittens by Julia Temiseva (Ravelry link). The yarn used is Knit-Picks Palette in color: Ash. The yarn was a gift from the irrepressible Random Nicole and finishes up all the yarn she gifted me awhile back. Used nearly every last yard.

I got gauge by doubling the yarn and using size 5 needles. The mittens are quite roomy for her, but her last pair shrank a bit after playing in the snow, so I thought bigger was safer. Her hands are probably more of a woman’s small, I would guess. These would be more a medium or large.

The beads for eyes really make the owls pop.

I’ve gotten pretty proficient at mittens now. I’ve done two more pair that I am finishing up and will post soon. The only pair that weren’t great are the Fisherman’s Mittens that were for myself. I am seriously considering ripping out the tops and making them longer. Ditto with the thumbs. They don’t fit right and are fairly useless if I try to drive. It won’t be that hard to fix. I just want to start some new things that aren’t mittens right now. I’ll think about this maybe in June when it is getting hot and I am no longer mittened out.

The most exiting knitting news is that I am using Christmas money to make a new sweater. I decided on the Callie Cardigan by Laura Chau. Top down raglan, with a V-neck, waist shaping and 3/4 sleeves. I chose a deep, charcoal gray from Cascade 220. Waiting on backordered matching dye lots and they I shall begin swatching! So excited!

In the meantime I also got a gift card for the fabric store, so another apron is planned for me soon.

The end of the year has brought new insights and hopes and dreams. We shall see if they are merely pipe dreams, or something that shall come to fruition. That’s the fun of it all, isn’t it? See you on the other side in 2011!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

