Skip to content

My Dishwashing Companion

December 14, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

Podcasts get me through a lot of housework drudgery each day. My iPod is fully loaded with many, many shows. One that I seem to always put on while I am cooking and cleaning up the kitchen is “APM: A Prairie Home Companion’s News from Lake Wobegon” (from American Public Media). I let the episodes build up until I have a bunch to listen to at once.

This program originates as a two hour weekly radio show that includes American folk music, skits and stories told by the show creator, Garrison Keillor.I find it completely comforting to listen to. And though I am not a Lutheran, nor did I grow up in Minnesota, I totally relate to it. I did grow up in a small town in the Midwest – and my family listened to “A Prairie Home Companion” most weeks.

The podcast is a repackaging of the storytelling segment, “The News from Lake Wobegon.” It’s pure nostalgia for me. I like that I am hearing about these people in a small, fictional town in Minnesota while I am puttering around my 1930’s kitchen. Seems Very fitting.

I’m really glad Garrison is still doing the show and finding new and amusing situations for his cast of characters. Makes me think all is right with the world.

Garrison Keillor also reminds me of this totally unrelated story…

Back when we were in elementary school, my younger sister was given an assignment. She was to find a photo of a random person in a magazine, and then write a fictional story about them, just going by their looks.

My sister Amy chose a photo of Mr. Keillor, not knowing who he was or anything. She wrote a wonderful short story about the man in the picture.

When she got the graded homework back, there was a note from her teacher, reprimanding her for using dialogue in the story. They weren’t supposed to learn dialogue until the following year.

The American educational system at work.

Is it any wonder other countries are passing us by? I could rant, but it’s Christmas and I don’t feel like it right now. (Lucky for you.)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

