Skip to content

Oh the Knitting!

November 22, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

When the temperatures drop you can almost hear the click of knitting needles round the world. Something about cooler weather make one long to turn yarn into wearable items.

Along with the couple of gifts I am crafting, I managed to make a few items for myself. First up are some super-cozy slippers. They are really more of an extremely thick sock, but whatever you call them they are going to be worn all winter long.

The pattern is called Nola’s Slippers and is available here as a free pdf download.

The pattern instructions are for knitting flat, but I was just crazy enough to think that I could alter it to be knit in the round. Guess what? It worked! I made a general list of how I did it on my Ravelry page, if you are interested. It’s pretty quick. It only took me a couple of days to do each slipper.

I used Patons Classic Wool, two strands held together. The color is one of my favorites, Dark Grey Mix.

My model, although pensive, agrees they are nice and warm. Especially if you happen to be sitting on a log out in the woods.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

