Skip to content

Drawer-a-Day

November 16, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

Does anyone else have a burst of energy for cleaning in the fall? I get inspired to garden in the spring, not clean. The fall “orderlies” have hit me and I am so glad! I have a lengthy list of tasks I want to get done.

The way I am working through it all is to break it down into bite-sized pieces. I may be fired up, but I don’t want to spend the whole day on this stuff.

The first dirty job I tackled was to get the ovens clean. I have self-cleaning ovens (one full size oven and one smaller one all in one range), but the racks have to be removed for the cleaning cycle. Do you remove your racks when cleaning? I read it in the manual. Yes. I read manuals. You learn interesting things. Like how to not ruin your racks!

Anyway, I am ashamed to say I have never cleaned the racks in the 8 or 10 years I’ve had the oven.  So I pulled out my steam cleaning machine and the terrifying wire brush attachment and got to work.  It did a pretty nice job, with a small touch up with an SOS pad in the tight corners. I did one rack a day, which took me three days to complete the job. Very satisfying. Plus I got a nice facial from all the steam. (Not really.)

This week I am working on the kitchen drawers – pulling everything out and washing the drawer and the caddy inside. It was a good time to also eliminate any unused or broken utensils.

It’s so much more enjoyable to cook in a clean kitchen. I plan to keep plugging away at these little tasks until everything shines. Or until I get fed up and go knit. Any guess which will come first?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

