Skip to content

Pumpkin Muffins

October 29, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

Well it seems the Great Pumpkin Shortage of 2009 is over! Did anyone else know it was hard to find canned pumpkin last year? I was recently greeted by a display of cans right in the entrance to Trader Joe’s, so I stocked up.

I used this recipe for Low-Fat Pumpkin Bread and made muffins. These taste far from low fat. I think the buttermilk and pumpkin keep them super moist.

As usual I can’t let sleeping dogs lie and made a few adjustments. I used 1 cup of oat flour plus 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour instead of white. They retained a fluffy texture and weren’t too dense. I am really starting to love oat flour. It doesn’t give me the carb high I get from white flour.

The recipe ended up making 12 muffins. I baked them 20 minutes.

One other tweak – I only used 1/8 teaspoon of nutmeg. Too much of that stuff is not my cup of tea. Speaking of tea, these are fabulous with a cup. I recommend Celestial Seasonings Gingerbread Spice herbal blend. It was a seasonal tea and hopefully they will bring it back this winter.

Happy fall everyone! Let’s enjoy the sweater weather while we can. Coat weather is surely not far behind but I am going to keep furiously knitting mittens and not think about that for as long as possible!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. pelicanito permalink
    October 29, 2010 12:49 pm

    Those look so delicious, and I think oat flour must be really good, I need to see if they sell it over here. Yum!

    • October 29, 2010 1:46 pm

      I’ve read that you can pulse oats in a food processor until it is fine. Same thing. So don’t let the grocery store limit you!

      • pelicanito permalink
        October 29, 2010 10:01 pm

        Thanks for that tip, I’m so trying these. 😀

  2. November 7, 2010 9:42 pm

    Yum! What a glorious autumn it has been!

Leave a Reply

