Skip to content

Seeing Red

October 18, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

It all started this summer when I decided to knit my sister a shoulder bag for her birthday. Since today is her birthday, it is now safe to post a little photo.

The pattern is The Lucy Bag from Two Old Bags. I knit the worsted weight version of the large bag, with the tall height option. It is knit out of Patons Classic Wool in “bright red.” This wool is wonderful for felting, very affordable, has great colors and is usually a stock item in craft stores. I certainly wouldn’t knit a sweater out of it – but for felting it is fantastic. I used just under two balls of the yarn.

I was thrilled with how it felted! Here’s how it looked before the shrinking process:

Amazing how much it shrinks and how it evens out the stitches into a uniform texture. I am a big fan of the felting – as you may know from the felted coasters I sell on Etsy. I am itching to find something else to felt!

I was kind of sorry to let this bag go. It’s a really great size for all the stuff I carry around. I am toying with doing one for myself in black at some point. I love the red, but black does go with everything!

I softened the blow of giving the bag away by casting on a shrug. Now I am not usually a fan of the shrug. To me it seems a silly item – if I wanted sleeves with no sweater I’d just wear long gloves. But this pattern is more of a shawl with sleeves. It has a cool stitch pattern and is knit out of a heavier weight, comfy yarn. I went with Malabrigo in color 102, Sealing Wax. It is quite stunning with a slight variegation to the color. You can see a sneak peek of the pattern in the photo below:

The pattern is for sale on Ravelry and is called “Verdant.” Dreamy! I wanted to do a sweater, but I can finish this much more quickly. Plus it only needs three skeins, so it is affordable. I’ll keep you posted on the progress.

Man oh man am I loving the red this fall!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2010 2:05 pm

    That bag is gorgeous, Laura!

Leave a Reply

