Skip to content

Italian Dressing

October 13, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

This fall I’ve been working on a new homemade salad dressing. Neil loves Italian, so I wanted to develop one that I could make myself. It still needs a bit of work, but this is a pretty tasty base. I decided to use red wine vinegar since I already have two really good balsamic vinegar recipes. I think it would probably be better with a fancy red wine vinegar or a sherry one, but I just have a run-of-the-mill one in the pantry.

Also,  in the interest of full disclosure, Neil is not yet a fan. I’ll keep tweaking and hoping.

Italian Dressing

I make this in very small amounts for myself, so you may need to double it if you are serving a group. This recipe makes approximately three servings.

2 Tablespoons red wine vinegar
1 small clove of garlic, crushed and roughly chopped
1/2 teaspoon fresh thyme leaves
1/2 teaspoon fresh parsley, minced
1/2 teaspoon fresh rosemary leaves, minced
Note: it’s not really necessary to pre-chop the herbs since the mixing will be done by machine and will chop them at the same time. Amounts are just a guideline.
1/8 teaspoon salt
pinch of black pepper
1/8 teaspoon herb and spice blend – I used roasted garlic and herb flavor by McCormick called Grill Mates
6 Tablespoons olive oil

Place all ingredients in a mini-food processor or use an immersion blender (I put all the ingredients in the smoothie cup that came with the hand blender). Blend until herbs are chopped and mixture is emulsified.

Sorry there is not photo. Salad dressing is not terribly photogenic…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

