Skip to content

Homemade Veggie Burgers

September 23, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

The idea of veggie burgers is very appealing to me. But the list of ingredients on the package of frozen ones is a bit daunting and chemical sounding. Also, since I am unable to eat beans, this limits my options to a soy or grain burger.

Neil ran across a recipe for “Breakfast Patties” while browsing on Epicurious.com and showed it to me. It sounded promising as a burger base. So I gave it a whirl.

First off, the burgers are delicious! More flavorful that I expected. The soy sauce keeps it from being too bland. The only thing I tweaked was the size of the patty. I made them thicker and wider to fit a burger bun. The recipe will make 8 full-size burgers.

For the rice I used Jasmine Brown Rice from Trader Joe’s. I think it has more flavor than regular brown rice – more fragrant – but regular brown rice would work fine. For the nuts I used walnuts. They seemed a “meaty” choice. Just used plain old button mushroom, minced up in the food processor.

My favorite serving suggestion so far is the version in the photo – on a lightly toasted Arnold’s Sandwich Thin (these are a great low-carb bread option) topped with a touch of homemade Italian salad dressing, fresh spinach leaves and sliced tomatoes. Really yummy and satisfying.

The additional patties have been individually wrapped and popped into the freezer. Now an easy veggie lunch is right at hand.

My only negative comment would be that this dirties miles and miles of dishes and takes some time to put together. I only did a half recipe to try it, but next time I will definitely make the whole batch so it will be more worth the time. I used a rice cooker for the rice, because I wanted that to cook while I was in the shower. It can go in the dishwasher, but by the time I was done I also had used the food processor, a large saute pan and a baking sheet. At least I could also chop the onion and the nuts in the food processor, since it was already in use.

Be sure to use a large, deep skillet or even a Dutch oven for the stove top cooking part so everything will fit when you mix it.

What an unexpected success! I really thought I would have to work and experiment to find a recipe I liked. Epicurious saves the day, once again! Now the question is will I ever get Neil to try a veggie burger?

[I will post the recipe for the Italian dressing later this week. It is quite good as well.]

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 4:00 pm

    Those look so yummy! I may give this a try!

Leave a Reply

