Skip to content

Eye Candy

September 17, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

Enough with the food preservation and organization posts. It’s time for some knittin’! I finished this project over the summer but just got around to weaving in the ends and washing and blocking. This is another piece of Christmas knitting, so if you are a niece of mine who lives in a cold climate, I compel you to immediately forget what you’ve seen here. (A little “Vampire Diaries” reference! I am so loving that show. Doesn’t take itself too seriously. Well it does, and then make fun of itself for doing so. Enjoyable!)

This simple little cowl is called the Two-One Cowl and it’s by Laura Treadway. I was inspired by the patterning of the yarn she used, so I went in search of something similar. If there is anything I love in this world, it is working with color.

I ran across a sock yarn at the craft store (Insert shriek of horror by yarn snobs here!) that looked like it might fit the bill. It’s Patons Kroy Socks FX in Clover Colors. It’s a 75% wool 25% nylon superwash. The color progression seemed to be long enough to get the effect I was looking for in the wider circumference of a cowl. I needed to double strand to get gauge, which really worked in my favor. To soften the color changes I rolled two balls from one skein, starting at either end. Then I cut the yarn at the center point and started from there. Color progression really just comes down to luck, but this could not have turned out better.

The yarn is squishy but only sort of soft, but after washing it really bloomed a bit and lost its rougher edge.  My lovely model was quite taken with it and asked for one of his own for winter. I saw online there is a nice black to gray colorway available that is probably a little more appropriate for a guy.

I think the diameter of the cowl turned out to be a nice proportion. I don’t care for floppy cowls, but too tight is constricting. This seems just right. I didn’t adjust the number of cast on stitches, just followed the pattern. This is a nice, mindless knit if you are comfortable doing ribbing. I remember doing my first ribbing project, some legwarmers for Mari. What a mess. I could not, for the life of me, stay on rhythm. I didn’t know how to read the knitting at that point, so I was clueless that I was even messing up. It’s crazy to see how far I’ve come in my skills. I think the most helpful thing to me has been listening to knitting podcasts. Even though they aren’t visual, I have learn so much just from listening to more advanced knitters. I should do a knitting podcast recommendation post! Yep. You can bet that will be coming up soon.

Happy Friday, everyone! I’m off for coffee with the girls!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 17, 2010 5:36 pm

    Nice work Laura! Neil makes a neck good model.

Leave a Reply

