Skip to content

Napalese Tote Bag

September 7, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

It’s finally finished! All lined and ready for fall!

I got a kit for this pattern – also know as the Sipalu Bag by Kerin Dimeler- Laurence –  for Christmas. It is a Knit-Picks design. It was a serious challenge for me. I thought the color work was going to be the hard part. There was a chart to following and 17 colors to deal with. Actually I found the welting to be the hardest part. Mine doesn’t look that great, but I learned that if I pick up a few stitches at a time on a double pointed needle, it won’t bunch up. If I ever do welting again it’ll look fantastic!

My only criticism of that pattern at all would be that I am not wild about the welting in the blush color. I wish I had realized that early on and changed to a different shade. I think a darker blue, purple or black would have been better. Other than that, I like how it turned out.

The bag is fully lined, and it took me forever to get around to doing that. There was no pattern for lining it, so I had to measure and work out how to put it together. It was fun choosing the contrasting fabric. I had planned on a small print of some kind, but when I  put the bag next to this purple at the fabric store, the purple in the bag really popped. So purple it was.

I am picky about the handles for knitted bags. I don’t like I-cord handles (which were suggested) and I didn’t want to put a craft store wooden handle on it. So I decided to construct a handle to match the side panels. I did a number of repeats of the side chart, added an inch or so of red on either side.

Then I lined it with a couple layers of heavy-duty iron-on interfacing and folded the edges into the center and sewed it up. I will post detailed information on my Ravelry page, for anyone who might be interested in this strap design.

Once they were sewed in place, I put in the lining.

The nice thing about the lining is that I didn’t have to weave in any ends. You can see above, I just braided them together.

I think I’m going to need a nice, new heathery grey outfit to wear with the bag, don’t you think? That would show it off well.

The kit came with enough yarn to do two bags, but I think I will use all the nice leftover Palette yarn to make mittens. Lots and lots of mittens!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin Campbell permalink
    September 7, 2010 7:12 am

    great job!! beautiful tote!!

    • September 7, 2010 7:27 am

      Thanks, Erin! Can’t wait until it is cool enough here to use it. Still a bit warm for wool!

  2. September 7, 2010 9:38 am

    hooray!!! It looks fantastic! I love what you did with the handles; I think they came out really well. They’re an elegant solution to the knitted bag handle question and they’re way better than icord would be. Great job, Laura.

    • September 7, 2010 9:45 am

      Thanks! I am awash in complements today. It did take me nearly 2 years to finish this, so yay for me!

Leave a Reply

