Skip to content

Tuna Casserole

September 6, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

There is just something totally comforting about a nice tuna casserole. Especially as fall approaches. Soon we’ll be eating less salads and moving into soups and stews.

We’re trying to eat fish once a week around here. I might do a separate entry about the latest dietary changes we’ve made, but I digress. As I put together a “fish” category in my recipe binder, I decided to give my mother’s old standard tuna a makeover.

First up was finding a good recipe for homemade condensed cream of mushroom soup. We are really avoiding the chemicals and additives these days and that gelatinous goo isn’t very appetizing. So I hit the internet and got lucky on the first one I tried. If you want to see the original you can find it here.

Basically you make a white sauce and then add in some mushrooms. Pretty simple and not too time consuming. Well more time consuming than opening a can, but boy were we impressed with how much better the casserole tasted! I will include the recipe below with my alterations as a part of the casserole recipe.

Another change I made to the casserole was to use whole wheat spaghetti noodles instead of egg noodles. We were worried that wouldn’t be so good, but Trader Joe’s makes a tasty version that we like a lot.

It’s great with tomato sauces and really great in this recipe. We were pretty surprised that a casserole we already liked could taste so much better!

Tuna Casserole

Ingredients:
1 recipe of condensed cream of mushroom soup, or 1 can of soup (See ingredients and instructions below for the homemade)
1-6 oz. package of tuna
1 1/2 cups whole wheat spaghetti noodles, broken into small pieces and cooked
1/2 can diced tomatoes
1/2 cup frozen peas
1/3 cup shredded cheese – whatever you have on hand – cheddar, mozzarella, provolone, parmesan
Salt and pepper
Approximately 1/2 cup crumbled crackers or bread crumbs for topping – I just sprinkle some over

Soup Ingredients:
1 Tablespoon butter ( I substituted olive oil, It was harder to blend, but worked OK)
3 Tablespoons flour
1/2 cup any broth OR 1 bouillon cube and 1/2 cup water
1/2 cup milk (I used 1%)
Mushrooms (I minced them in the food processor very fine. They blended right into the soup and gave it great flavor! I just threw some in – probably about 1/2 to 3/4 of a cup)

Soup Instructions:
Melt butter in a saucepan over medium-low heat.

Stir in the flour a little at a time until smooth. Remove from heat.

Add broth and milk, a little at a time, stirring to keep mixture smooth. A sauce whisk works great for this – it is a flat wire whisk. But a fork works OK.

Stir in the mushrooms. Return it to the heat and simmer gently until the mixture thickens. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Makes the equivalent of one can of condensed soup.

Casserole Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Lightly spray a 2-3 quart casserole dish with cooking spray.

Cook the noodles.

In a large bowl mix everything except the bread crumbs. Be sure to add some ground pepper and a bit of salt. The noodles will need it.

Transfer mixture to the casserole dish. Sprinkle with the crumbs. You can melt a Tablespoon of butter and drizzle over the crumbs, but I find those calories are unnecessary.

Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes, or until the casserole begins to bubble.

Serves 4.

[Sorry there are no photos – I hadn’t expected it would be good enough to be blogged about!]

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2010 2:58 pm

    Just found your blog. Casserole sounds fab! I frequently use Emeril’s tuna tetrazzini recipe which is also made with a scratch base. I sub milled flour for the white. I’ll have to try yours next time.

    Check out vita-spelt pasta. We LOVE it. Very similar taste to white and better than many of the wheats that we’ve tried.

    • November 25, 2010 4:37 pm

      Hi Stephanie! Glad you found us! I’ll have to look up Emeril’s recipe. I always like to try something different. I’ll also look for the spelt pasta. I want to try spelt flour as well. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

