Skip to content

Color Scheme

August 30, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

Sometimes you need a little inspiration. Earlier this summer we took a little antiquing trip to historic Milford. That’s the day I found my fabulous nightstands. I also picked up a few odds and ends that called out to me. I was looking some accessories to get my color scheme going for the home-office-to-craft-studio redo. I’d already chosen a warm taupe for walls. (and have misplaced the paint chip, but it matches the color in our guest room.)

What caught my eye that day were some items in black. First was a set of two little filigree mirrors.

I’ve always loved a taupe and black color scheme. I was in a beautiful home once that had taupe walls and white trim with lots of black furniture. It’s so clean and modern looking, even if you have traditional pieces. The first floor of our house is decorated in earth tones – sage green, cranberry red, with wood floors. It’s a restful palette and this taupe and black scheme fits right in. It think it will serves as a neutral background for the work that will be done in the room. It won’t compete with colors that I will be using in my projects.

I also saw a number of black and white toile plates that day. I snagged this reasonable priced one.

I hope to pick up a few more coordinating plates to complement it. That will be a fun quest for future shopping trips.

Now the wheels really started turning. I received a lovely little print awhile back from an online friend and Baltimore printmaker, Melissa Salzman.

It struck me that I could repurpose a frame I found a number of years ago to make it look amazing. The frame was originally gold and I sprayed it black.

It came with the little picture of the lady in it, which I like, but I’m not wild about the two together. I think the frame was meant for the print. I just have to add a new hanger on the back so I can hang in a landscape orientation instead of portrait.

I am hoping to get back to the sorting and file purging this week. Life has really gotten in the way. But my vision burns strong! Looking at these items together makes me really want to get going on this again.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Leslie permalink
    August 30, 2010 9:13 am

    i love it all!!!! esp the mirrors!! redecorating is so fun!!

Leave a Reply

