Skip to content

The Meaning of Love

August 24, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

Last week was our 20th wedding anniversary. Although I didn’t actually meet Neil until I was 24 years old, I feel like this man has always been in my life. And I can’t imagine it any other way. When things get hard, this guy shows up. There is nothing more I can really say because that says it all. (He shows up all the rest of the time too, but heck that’s the easy part where I do all his laundry and cook his meals.)

While we are pretty low key about our yearly anniversary, we’ve had a few milestone ones like 10 and 15 that involved some fancy planning or a big to-do. Well, Neil made the 20th the best ever.

He started preparations months ago, armed with a simple idea: Ask all the musical artists we know to each do a very personal cover of a specially selected Depeche Mode song. He cast the net far and he cast the net wide.

All without my knowledge. He finally told me he was doing something, because he had to stay late at work now and then to put it together. But I WAS NOT TO ASK WHAT IT WAS ABOUT. PERIOD.

Well the effort was worth it. He ended up with eleven songs, which he presented to me on our anniversary.

I was blown away! Completely. The time and care put into these songs is heartbreakingly beautiful. I have never been so deeply touched by something in my entire life. I have never felt more loved.

The amazing package design was contributed by the brilliant Andrew Dineley, founder of Soft Octopus design studio. It is stinkin’ cool!

As a result of working on the project, Andrew had a fabulous idea. He suggest that Neil and I do a podcast featuring the music. We are definitely going to do it! We’ll play all the songs and then tell a little bit about the artist behind each version. The musical styles of the covers range from classical piano to folk, rock, country, singer/songwriter, down-and-dirty-lounge, Americana and of course there are a couple synthy ones, just for good measure. I plan to bio each artist  in the show notes so everyone can be introduced to them!

To everyone who played a part, I will treasure this for the rest of my life. You are all so amazing at what you do and you took the songs and made them your own. It really made me experience these songs in a whole new light. I can never thank you enough for this precious gift. Love and kisses to you all!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 8:51 am

    Wow! That is amazing and brilliant. Happy anniversary to you both!

  2. August 29, 2010 10:58 am

    This is just cool. And congratulations!

Leave a Reply

