Skip to content

Petticoat Junction

August 16, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

The sewing machine has been getting a workout this summer. Mari’s trip into Gothic Lolitawear has gotten my creative juices flowing. She researched and found a wonderful tutorial online for making your own petticoats. It is so interesting watching a child grow up with the internet. She searches for what she wants, reads reviews and weighs her options. She decided that the petticoats she could order online didn’t have a great track record and making your own was the way to go. Even though it was going to cost more than twice as much.

She used her own money for the supplies and I donated the labor. It was an interesting process. The tutorial was first rate, but not for beginners. I had some experience sewing my own clothes back in high school, so I knew the basic techniques, like gathering, which weren’t spelled out in the tutorial.

The bottom tier called for eight yards, which is 24 feet of fabric to gather. When it is a crispy crinoline, it is tricky. And requires million of pins.

Here’s what it looks like finished:

It is seriously well put together with satin ribbon finishing.

It also has an adjustable waistband, which is good cause my girl is still growing like a weed – three inches in height over the past year!

OK, so what is the point of this undergarment? To make a dress poofy, of course. See for yourself.

Now that this is done I want to get back to sewing the lining in my Napalese Tote Bag so I can use it this fall. Fall, you are coming aren’t you? I’m not fooled by summer’s lingering around the high 90’s. Wool will be needed. Someday.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 2:45 pm

    Hi Laura 🙂
    Thank you so much for keeping my dad in your prayers ♥ His surgery was a great success and he is recovering quickly. I’ve put a little update on how it all went on my blog as well 🙂
    Hugs, Rosina
    PS. I find that sewing is like therapy in times of crisis *grin*.

Leave a Reply

