Skip to content

Summer Studio… In Process

August 6, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

Well, here is the current state of affairs in our future studio. I am painstakingly purging the files and going through supplies so that everything will fit in the new design. The idea is to get rid of the huge desk against the wall and run a work surface along that entire wall. It will be supported by four wooden file cabinets. The mishmash of furniture and storage pieces was fine when we were first married, but we are ready for something more finished and grown up now.

Every day is shred, shred, shred. It never seems to be finished. This is the tough part. Nothing seems to be happening except a major mess. I will push through the nasty part and soon we’ll be painting! A nice calm taupe – the same color that is in our guest room. The two rooms are connected by a pass-through bath that you can’t see in the photo. The color change should make the first floor flow a little better, and brighten this room as well.

Today I finished a killer petticoat for Mari’s Gothic Lolita dress. We’ll have photos of that soon. But I want to share the latest progress on the hexagon quilt. It will cheer me up after looking at that office photo. Yech.

The assembly has begun! Wheeee!!!!! So exciting. I am putting together the center square, which is a three foot by three foot section of the flowers. There will be a border around this section using the aquamarine mini-print that you see between the flowers. Then there will be a border of random hexagons around the outside. I like the look of both the flowers and the random hexes, so I decided to use them both in the quilt. It’s coming together way faster than I expected, considering I only work on it an hour or so in the evenings.

I just keep making, making, making as the temperatures soar into the 100’s outside. It’s hard to think of needing a quilt at night ever again! Oh how soon we forget…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2010 11:41 pm

    Oh, that quilt is going to be gorgeous. Such patience and detail that must take. I am envying your future studio!
    Nicola

    • August 14, 2010 7:37 am

      Thanks, Nicola! It’s actually pretty relaxing to sew it – as long as I don’t get in a hurry, that is.

  2. August 14, 2010 7:27 pm

    Beautiful..what an inspiring and super-creative quilt…gorgeous!

    • August 15, 2010 9:36 am

      Thanks, Kiki! The positive comments are keeping me going – I’ve now gotten to the third row of flowers. Slowly but surely…

Leave a Reply

