Skip to content

Nightstands of My Dreams

July 30, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

Where to start; where to start! This is like a fairy tale, with a pair of nightstands instead of a princess and a Honda CRV instead of an enchanted coach!

First, a little history. When we bought our home in 1994, the second floor was a bit of an attic space. Dark paneling, slanted eaves. I could see the potential, but it was rough.

Craptastic photo, but you get the idea. After multiple coats of stain-killing primer and a nice warm white finish coat, the space was transformed into a cozy space. For furniture we had a large antique dresser and the desk I use for sewing. I picked up a couple more second-hand dressers and we were in business. The only things missing were two nightstands.

At first we used wooden TV trays that I stained black. Not very sturdy and no storage. Then I got fed up and used a little wooden washstand on my side and put an old metal file cabinet on Neil’s side. It worked fine for sixteen years, but it didn’t fit my vision of the perfect nightstands. I expected that the right ones would cross our path someday. We watched yard sales. We checked antique stores and thrift stores. What we found was usually not that great and generally overpriced.

So we waited. And I kind of gave up. Well fast-forward to last week… we went antique browsing and I happened upon the cutest little pair from the 1900’s. They seem to have been part of a dresser that was disassembled at some point.

I was taken with them right away, but they had a big HOLD sign on them, so I noted the hold-to date and moved on. I got a couple other small decorative items that I plan to use in the new craft studio. We went home and life was good.

Well I just couldn’t stop thinking about those nightstands. The size was perfect. The distressed pale blue paint finish was perfect. The narrow shape was perfect. And each one had three drawers. THREE BLINKIN’ DRAWERS!

So a few days later I called the shop and asked if they had been picked up and low and behold…. they were now available. Some schmuck passed on them. Yippee!

The price was great – I couldn’t get new ones for what I paid. We just picked them up and I am happy, happy, happy.

One other perfect feature: a comic book-sized bottom drawer. For Neil’s constantly growing reading material.

Here they are in their new home. Told you they were perfect! I even like how they look with our $3 closeout Target lamps.

I know retail therapy can be dangerous, but we’ve had a bit of a big disappointment around here (which I might write about once I decide to admit defeat) and this purchase certainly lifted my spirits. Nothing like finding something after a sixteen year search. Now excuse me while I go knit some pretty drink coasters for the nightstands…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. annette permalink
    July 30, 2010 10:19 am

    they do look like the side drawers on the antique vanities we inherited with this house. one of ours has a low shelf connecting at the bottom and the other has a high shelf, almost like a desk top connecting. then they both have mirrors across the tops, with decorative scrolls on either side like those have. Great find! Lea uses a TV tray for a night stand right now, by the way!

    • July 30, 2010 11:06 am

      It’s nice that someone already redid them into nightstands for us. I always have ideas to rework furniture, but never time to do it! TV trays are perfectly good for a kid, I’d say!

  2. ammanmom permalink
    July 30, 2010 11:39 am

    Are they cute or WHAT???? adorable and perfect in the bedroom! I MUST have drawers or somesort of bedside storage for a nightstand…it is a must. How you last 16 years I have no idea! these are just darling!

    okay, so what’s the big disappointment? Is it the school for Mari? Hope things are okay.

    • July 30, 2010 11:47 am

      We’ve had piles of stuff on the floor. For 16 years. You can imagine my joy now.

      Yeah, it doesn’t look good for her school. There is still a chance, but I have to enroll her in her old school now, to be safe. And buy tuition insurance in case we pull her out. I had hoped to avoid this extra expense, but we have to remain flexible. Prayers for a spot opening up ASAP and for my sanity are appreciated…

  3. July 30, 2010 3:13 pm

    I do hope someday to find a set of perfect nightstands for less than the retail price of way-too-much. Those are an incredible find, make me seem very primitive with my Ikea table with a milkcrate hidden by a scarf. Though it is a pretty scarf…

    • July 30, 2010 5:12 pm

      Nothing wrong with an Ikea table! I’ve looked there a number of times for nightstands. Love the milkcrate/scarf trick. Neil’s file cabinet nightstand was covered by a cheerful plaid table cloth. Was better than looking at the bright red metal!

Trackbacks

  1. Color Scheme « The Smiths' Occasional Blog

Leave a Reply

