Skip to content

Craft and Linen Armoire

July 26, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

If you thought the frenzy might have subsided over the weekend, well you were wrong! The clean-up I am featuring today was actually done last week, but I did continue the spree by spending my Saturday night purging and reorganizing my rolodex. Yes, I do know how to party.

This armoire is in our first-floor guest room. It contains things that would normally be found in a linen closet – if you lived in a house that wasn’t built in 1935 and actually had some closets. I’ve also claimed the bottom half to store crafting supplies that just won’t fit in the office.

Here’s what it looked like at the beginning of the process. I had already cleared out the bottom at this point:

It was stressing me out that there was a little bit of linens on one shelf and a little more on another. Everything was pretty hard to get to. I had all the containers in there, but containers aren’t always the answer. There has to be a plan to their placement if it is going to work.

Here’s some of the stuff that was in the bottom:

While cleaning it out I filled one bag with garbage and one bag with paper to be recycled. Mari was willing to pitch some half-completed projects and juvenile things she wasn’t ever going to use. A few things can go to the future, hopefully nonfictional yard sale.

Here’s the finished space:

Everything works better now. I’ve been inspired to use a few craft supplies already since they are now so easy to get to. And the linens are going to be easier to keep straight. Nothing worse than folding a stack of towels and then not being able to slide them into the cabinet.

Energy around this project remains high. I tackled the kitchen junk drawer this morning. It took about 10 minutes. Once you get going, the sorting process gets quicker. We plan to continue with the basement this week.

Time for a nice tall lemonade and sweet tea vodka. It is summer, after all.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. ammanmom permalink
    July 26, 2010 2:01 pm

    did you say lemonade and sweet tea vodka? okay. do share. asap. why are you holding out on me?

    • July 26, 2010 2:09 pm

      Oh my goodness, have you not heard about this? It’s just getting popular around here. There is a new vodka flavor called “sweet tea.” It is basically vodka flavored with sweet tea. You put a generous splash in a glass of lemonade. So yummy! Not too many bars have the vodka yet, but they had it at the liquor store. Way cheaper to make your own anyway! Don’t know if you can find it in Jordan… I hope so ’cause every southern gal needs some!

  2. ammanmom permalink
    July 26, 2010 3:34 pm

    wow. who knew? we live in such a bubble over here! I’ll check with the manager of our coop who orders alcohol for the embassy. Maybe she can track it down and I’ll be the cool trendsetter in Amman! I guess I could make sweet tea, mix with lemonade, and add vodka…hhhhmmm….

    thanks, Kim

  3. Lez Kennedy permalink
    July 26, 2010 6:31 pm

    Remember the “Junk Drawer” video installment we did for Crossroads, BEFORE you guys had any junk?
    Good times.
    Time to tackle my closet.

    • July 26, 2010 6:42 pm

      Do I! In fact I ran across a VHS copy of it in the DVD drawer. Couldn’t part with it. Memories….

  4. July 26, 2010 7:38 pm

    I love organizing! And using a label maker! Unfortunately, my apartment doesn’t always reflect it.

    • July 28, 2010 9:34 am

      My place doesn’t either, usually! Trying to change that, one cupboard at a time… Although what about slapping a label that says “mess” on everything? That could work!

Leave a Reply

