Skip to content

Temporary Sewing Studio

July 23, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

As mentioned yesterday, massive purging and organizing is going on. These projects have been overwhelming me for some time. I finally took them off the to-do list because the thought of doing them was making me feel sick. Well, the other day while I was cleaning our bedrooms upstairs something clicked and I just started reworking our master closet. It is a nicely outfitted (albeit small) dormer that projects out at one end of our master bedroom. It contains tons of matching baskets that sit on wire racks. Over the years, things has just gotten moved around and out of order.

Now that Mari and I are sewing more, the sewing supplies really needed to be condensed and sorted and contained. There was a little here, a little there. So I pulled everything out and got to work. It’s going to be a nice little spot to work for awhile. Here are a few of the details:

(Please note that lighting is really bad up there. My before photos were too dark to post. These aren’t too terrible.)

Notions now all fit in a plastic box. Elastic, buttons, bias tape, etc.

Larger items (fiberfill, and some projects that are on the back burner) went into a large plastic bin.

I had two empty drawers in the desk I was using as a sewing table. How inefficient was that? Now the top one holds my cleaned out sewing box (which actually used to be my mothers.)

A little aside:
Don’t you love when you save little boxes and containers knowing that some day they will be useful and then, VOILA! you need it? That’s what happened with the little brown box that now houses my bobbins. Kept that around for years knowing I would need it someday. Do I sound like a hoarder, or what?

Now that I reworked all the closet stuff I was able to free two lower shelves to be used for storing supplies and projects. So I can get them out of the living room – hooray!

All this work only took a few hours and now I have a clean and organized sewing station. Once again I am reminded that doing is so less traumatic than thinking about doing.

This functions well and I can watch Turner Classic Movies on the nearby TV while I sew. It’s a little awkward in the room with the ironing board set up, but it beats rushing downstairs to iron seams open. This should work well until I get the craft studio of my dreams. Which currently exists only in my mind and a little bit on a floor plan and shelving layout.

You know what really kicked me into action? The Summer Studio Tour over at Beauty That Moves. I think I couldn’t face photographing this area without reworking it first. So thanks to Heather and the the other lovely participants. Check it out for mucho inspiration.

Baby steps! Next up: Craft and Linen Armoire. Stay tuned…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2010 1:47 pm

    Well done! I love organizing and turning on old movies to sew with.

    • July 23, 2010 3:05 pm

      I need to save up more old movies on the DVR up there so I’ll always have one for sewing time! Thanks for the comment!

  2. July 23, 2010 2:48 pm

    You’re sewing station looks lovely! I wish my place was organized like that.
    I’m experiencing the same thing with this Summer Studio Tour, I finally started making stuff again.

    • July 23, 2010 3:03 pm

      Thanks, Geertrude! And thanks for the inspiration as well. It’s funny how sewers tend to also be gardeners!

  3. Leslie permalink
    July 26, 2010 12:40 am

    AWESOME! Our apt here is small and I keep trying to rework things to be better organized….I’m needing to do it now cuz things are falling on my head when I open closet doors. thanks for inspiration!
    xoxo

    • July 26, 2010 7:48 am

      Sure thing, lady! I still have a “things falling on your head” closet to tackle, too. Right now I am pretending it doesn’t exist! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

