Skip to content

Weekend Retreat Cardi

July 15, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

OK, confession time. I really didn’t want to post this sweater. It turned out OK. I wanted to learn to do a top-down sweater and I think I altered the pattern pretty well to fit my shape. But honestly I’m not too keen on my shape at the moment. I feel rather fat. I eat less and less and stay the same or get bigger. I am trying to cope with a slowing metabolism, but I have some neck issues that are greatly impacting my ability to exercise as hard as I would like. Whaaa. Whaaa. Whaaa. Anyway, that is my sob story. So I don’t like how I look in this sweater. But that aside, here’s what I did to make the fit better that the original pattern, which was more of a cropped style.

The pattern is free from Lionbrand.com. The yarn is the same as the cowl I posted the other day, Country by Naturally Caron in color 0012 foliage.

First of all, I can’t wear a cropped style. Even when I am happy with my weight a cropped style is not an option. So I lengthened the sweater quite a bit. I also eliminated the ribbing on the front edges because it looked really dumpy on me. I instead decided to do a zipper front and knit a narrow stockinette edging. If you want more precise details on these changes I wrote it all on my Ravelry page.

I like the color – though it is REALLY bright for me. The yarn has a nice drape and body.

So there you have it. I learned more about sweater construction with this one, and next time I will add some waist shaping. It will make all the difference I think. The extra fabric just adds unneeded bulk. In the meantime I plan to visit a physical therapist for my neck so I can continue to reduce my own bulk. Sigh.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

