Skip to content

Iced Tea Blends

July 8, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

Since we are in the middle of a heat wave, I thought a little post about iced tea might be refreshing. Once the weather gets warm, I switch over my morning hot tea to iced. I used to be somewhat limited in my teas since I can’t tolerate caffeine. Even decaf has enough of the stuff to give me a problem. I have developed a taste for herbals, but I tire of flavors quickly. Therefore, it’s so exciting how popular red tea from South Africa has gotten the last few years. If you haven’t tried red tea, it is a pretty good substitute for black tea – it has a nice body and richness to it. It is caffeine free, which makes me ever so happy and it blends with other flavors amazingly well. Which gave me this idea:

I love peach flavored iced tea. Blending it with the red really rounds it out and give it body.

Here are a few other ready-made red tea flavors that are excellent iced. First is Republic of Tea’s Earl Greyer. Delicious hot or iced.

Another favorite is Harney and Sons African Autumn. I found this one at our local Barnes and Noble bookstore in their cafe. It’s great hot, but when iced it becomes more fruity.

Here’s how I brew mine up. I heat 5 1/2 of cups water to a boil. (That’s what fits in my kettle. It makes me about a two day supply.)

I place one tea bag in a stoneware pitcher (make sure what you use is heat-resistant! A big Pyrex measuring cup works great if you have one) and then add the boiling water. If I am using the peach and red teas I add one bag of each.

Let the tea steep a good long time. A friend from South Africa (Hi Orchidhunter!) informed me red tea likes a good long steep. You can even boil it to get more flavor.) I often leave it for an hour. Chill and serve over ice. I don’t dilute it with any water because the ice melts and that makes it the perfect strength. Alter to fit your own taste.

What’s your favorite tea on ice?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 10, 2010 3:52 pm

    Another rooibos convert. Soon we’ll have world dominion. Mwahaha!

Leave a Reply

