Skip to content

Great Basement Purge of 2010

July 5, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

Part One of Probably Many Entries
One of our big projects this summer is to clean out the basement. It is where old electronics go to die. Where laundry is washed and dried. Where excess kitchen equipment is stored. Where we keep the lawn and garden implements (because we have no garage). And where we keep nearly every toy Mari has gotten since she was about five years old. We did a “baby stuff” purge a number of years ago, but other than some books and stuffed animals, she still has EVERYTHING. I swear there are toys she got as gifts that she never even touched. It’s overwhelming and sickens me to see all the STUFF. Stuff everywhere.

Thank goodness Mari has gotten over her tendency towards hoarding. When she was really little she didn’t like to throw away a tissue after blowing her nose. “Bye bye tissue!” she would wistfully sigh. I’m not making this up.

So on Saturday morning, after a sleepover with Mari and her friends (OK, we don’t have the best timing), we tackled one little micro-portion of the project. We sat with her and sorted through a bunch of books from her early years. She was very against the project, but the lure of tokens for computer use and money for the sold books got her going. Once she started, it was a breeze. She got rid of 2/3 of what we have in the basement as well as a shelf in the living room. Neil and I got so excited we did a review of our books in the home office. We’ve gone through these once before and I didn’t think there would be much, but we managed to add two full crates when all was said and done.

Neil then made a very smart move and loaded everything into the car and headed to Half Price Books. We had a total of eight bags, boxes and crates and that netted us $65. Pretty impressive. Plus they take everything your bring and donate any overstock. I love that I don’t have to then make another trip to Goodwill to hand off what they didn’t want.

You can find information here about their purchasing program.

So internet, do you hold onto all the books you ever bought, or do you review what you have occasionally and clear things out? I’m curious…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sue permalink
    July 6, 2010 3:20 am

    I am a hoarder. I would hate to have to move, we’ve been in the same house for 22 years. Yes, that’s 22 years of STUFF.

    • July 6, 2010 7:29 am

      I know – moving would be terrifying. We’ve been here 16 years. I am a conflicted person – I love clean surfaces, but I always think I’ll need something later. Answer: put it in the basement! Well, we’re out of space there. I recommend starting small, if you want to get rid of stuff. One small job at a time. Or not. Up to you, my dear!

Leave a Reply

