Skip to content

Garden Surplus

June 23, 2010
tags:

Laura’s Blog Entry

There’s been some heavy lifting going on in the garden. Yesterday I finally got to the point where I was ready to move the bloody lovely Iris again. They are so pretty in the spring, but I have never quite gotten them positioned properly in the overall layout. They spread a bit each year, and while I love the gray-green spikey foliage that they have most of the year, they are blocking my little paver path to the back of the flower bed. They need a bit more space.

I finally sat down this spring with a notebook and pencil and did a plan. I made sure to take in consideration the height of things as well as color. The Iris are now at the back against the house. Hopefully I won’t have to move these again. Ever.

Which brings me to an offer. If you are a gardener in the Cincinnati area, I have a few extra plants I’d like to give away to a good home. I only needed a bit of the Iris to fill the new spot, so I have a large clump left over.

They like full sun and shouldn’t be placed too close to a walkway because the tall flower stalks eventually get weighed down by the heavy flowers and bend over. My front walk is kinda blocked sometimes.

I will warn you they most likely won’t flower next spring since they have been moved. But if you leave them in place they will flower more and more each year. Here’s what they look like in bloom:

While we are giving things away, I have a baby volunteer ( edible) Sage that came up that I don’t need. It loves full sun, doesn’t need much water, and while it dies back each winter, it comes back strong each spring. It enjoys aggressive pruning.

Finally, I started Basil from seed and got tons of seedlings. Each sprout of this variety grows into a compact little shrub. It’s nice for a small space or container. I’d love to gift these as well.

That’s it for now, but if I get some interest I will post some other items as I thin out some other beds. I have lots of shade-loving ground cover and I don’t think I will need it all for a new bed I am starting.

If you are interested in any of the above, shoot me an email at smithsoccasional@gmail.com and we can work out a pick up.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

