Skip to content

Summer Reading

June 17, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

I am so excited to dig into some reading this summer. I shared what I was planning to read in 2008 and felt compelled to snap a photo of the lineup for 2010. I think it is a nice mix of literature, self-help, spiritual development, creative inspiration and complete, mindless entertainment. I’ll be throwing in a few Robert B. Parkers (God rest his prolific soul) to round out the fun stuff.

I’ve also already started Days with Indigo, by the lovely Christa Belle Harrison. I bought it as my first ebook. Really enjoying the story!

As an aside, I was filling in some information about my knitting projects on my Ravelry page the other day and wondered if there was something similar for reading. Indeed there is. I now use Shelfari to queue up books I want to read. So much better than scraps of paper and virtual “stickies.”  Here’s a link to my Shelfari page, if you want to be friends on there.

I also heard about a gardening social media site called Folia. Haven’t set anything up yet, but that sounds cool as well. I love the tracking abilities of these sites, combined with ability to share with a community of like-minded individuals, don’t you know. It really inspires me and gets me moving to accomplish things.

Now here’s the part where I ask the question:

What are you currently reading, Internet?

Tap… Tap… Is this thing on?

(That joke never gets old, eh?)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 9:48 am

    I just started reading “Made by Hand: Searching For Meaning in a Throwaway World”:
    http://www.librarything.com/work/book/60806179

    It’s quite inspiring, especially for someone like me, that stares and screens all day.

    I just finished reading “The Introvert Advantage” which really made me feel like a little less of a weirdo:
    http://www.librarything.com/work/book/60826269

    • June 17, 2010 10:04 am

      The Introvert Advantage is great! That really gave me confidence that my temperment is an asset, not a liability. Made by Hand sounds good, too. I’ll have to add that to my Shelfari. Thanks!

  2. June 17, 2010 9:54 am

    Helloooooo Laura!
    What am I reading?
    I recently finished all of the Percy Jackson books and just (yesterday) finished The Prime of Miss Jean Brody which was very good and I recommend it)

    • June 17, 2010 10:06 am

      Mari is on book 3 of that series. She loves it! And kudos for reading something serious and important like Miss Jean Brody! *pins a gold star on Mizelissa’s lapel*

  3. June 17, 2010 10:03 am

    oops! Back to the books:

    currently rereading The Iliad (it’s 10 yrs since last reading so I figured it was time for a reread) and a series of beloved mystery novels by Donna Andrews. She has 2 series out but I’m reading the Meg Langslow books and I just adore them. Meg, our protagonist, is a blacksmith (always wanted to learn forging) and lives in VA near her kooky family.

    • June 17, 2010 10:07 am

      How much do we love a book series? They are so comforting, somehow!

      • June 24, 2010 11:39 am

        thanks for the gold star *preens*
        I loooooooooove reading books in a series. When I was a little girl I fell absolutely in love with Anne of Green Gables and read every single book in the series. I remember having very serious conversations with Anne about imagination and kindred spirits.

  4. June 17, 2010 11:47 am

    I’m not a reader, but I do listen to audio books. Just finished “American on Purpose: The Improbable Adventures of an Unlikely Patriot” by Craig Ferguson

    Next up is “Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers” by Mary Roach

    • June 17, 2010 1:41 pm

      Same as reading, if you ask me! I’ve usually got an audio book going as well. Heard good things about the Craig Ferguson book. You’ll have to let me know how you like “Cadavers.” Not sure I’m down with that one…

Leave a Reply

