Skip to content

Horsie

June 1, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

Pattern: Sea Horse
By Barbara Prime
Available for sale on Ravelry

Yarn: Paton’s Classic Wool
Colors: Dark Grey Mix and Black

This was my first attempt at a knitted toy. It was actually quite fun, and went faster than I anticipated. The whole thing was done in about a week and a half. The most time consuming part was stuffing and sewing the individual pieces together.

I am pretty happy how it turned out. Not having much toy experience, I could have used a little more instruction on how to make the feet and hands (or should I say hooves) look better at the bottom where I closed them up.

Also, there were no specific instructions on how to make the tail, although the mane was well demonstrated.

I chose to stitch the eyes as well as the nose and mouth as this was a gift for  a 3-year-old.

I winged it for the tail.

As a whole that pattern is very cute, well written and nicely photographed. I highly recommend it. My only challenges with it were due to inexperience. Most importantly, it got a hug from the recipient. That’s the most important thing!

NOTE 6/2/10
I was notified last night the horsie has been taken to bed with the recipient each night and is now named “Fresho.” Or maybe it’s “Fresh-O.” Squee!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 11:43 pm

    hims is totally adorable! Very cute!!!! Well Done Laura! *wants to squidge him!*

Leave a Reply

