Skip to content

How Does Your Garden Grow

May 17, 2010
tags: ,

Laura’s Blog Entry

As we recover from Neil’s birthday weekend and get ready to announce the winner of our Venus Hum DVD contest (TUNE IN TOMORROW!) I thought I’d chronicle my work in the garden. Not sure what possessed us, but we got so much done the last few weeks. Now the rest of the summer can be maintenance and a few small projects outdoors.

First of all, I went to a sale put on by the local herb society and got everything I needed – and more – to fill out the garden.

I got some staples, like parsley and rosemary, as well as a few new ones to try. I think I’ve planted dill before without success, but I am hoping that starting it this early will make it work. The heat generally wipes out fragile things like cilantro and dill. Fingers crossed I’ll get to harvest some.

The two fun things I got were catnip for our kitty, and some orange mint. Can’t wait to try that in my tea (the orange, not the catnip. Although maybe it would perk me up tot try the catnip!)

I decided to put those two plants into pots so they don’t spread and intermingle with the rest of my crazy mint. Plus the terra cotta is a nice contrast to all the green and brown.

One cool thing is that my strawberries actually produced a few berries.

They’ve only ripened one at a time, so we’re not making fruit salad, or anything. But they do taste really lovely when they are just picked. It’s almost a floral flavor that you don’t get in ones that have been shipped.

So all in all the herb garden is looking quite tidy and is off to a good start. I am happy to report that the sage I chopped to within an inch of its life looks better than ever. Aggressive pruning did it a world of good!

It’s the nice rounded clump in the little half circle in front of the path. Only thing left is to transplant the basil I started from seed in a pot. I’m waiting for it to get just a bit bigger before I disturb the root system.

I’m off to catch up on my PBS shows on the DVR. The rain cancelled the school activity I was supposed to chaperone this morning so I am going to take advantage of the quiet house and hunker down with my knitting.

DO NOT DISTURB…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

