Skip to content

Simple Baby Bib

May 10, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

The parade of knitted baby gifts continues. And as I am starting another today, there is no end in sight! OK, I’m moving on to preschoolers, so there IS possibly an end in sight.

Today features one of my new favorite baby gifts, a cute bib. The pattern is available for free from Colleen Kadleck.

It calls for an Aran weight yard, and I decided it was a good time to try out Lion Brand Nature’s Choice Organic Cotton. It is a chunkier weight and it gave the bib a nice texture while remaining very soft.

I also did a little experiment and ran a swatch through the washing machine gentle cycle. The yarn is listed as handwash, but I hoped it would be OK since it is a bib and bibs get dirty. And who is really going to handwash a bib? So, the swatch looked perfect after washing, so I am going out of a limb to say that it is OK to machine wash, at least in this  simply constructed piece.

I love the little button detail. It adjusts to three different sizes as the baby grows.

I didn’t want to just make them in a solid color so I got two colors and did alternating stripes.

So there you have another installment of baby knitting. Which sounds like I am knitting a baby. Which I’m not. Believe me!

Stay tuned for a special contest announcement here tomorrow!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin Campbell permalink
    May 10, 2010 7:38 pm

    ADORABLE

Leave a Reply

