Skip to content

New Life

March 4, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry
Check it.

Yes Sir. That is what you think it is. A real-life, genuine vinyl copy of Depeche Mode’s very first single.

What blows me away is this:

This was only the 14th release by Mute. I think that’s what that means. Correct me if I am wrong!

But wait. There’s more. How about their second single as well?

I was blown away when Warren (from Hungry Lucy) arrived to generously appear on our podcast last weekend and handed over these gems. I will treat them with the respect and admiration they deserve! Promise!

Depeche Mode fans are fabulous people and very generous. And they are also artistic. Case in point: I got this lovely, handmade card from Pelicanito. It travelled all the way from Mexico! Isn’t it pretty?

In the words of the band that grossed 16 million dollars last year, “I feel loved.”

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 10:45 am

    Bwoahh *stares*
    Beauty!
    I´m jealous
    LOL

  2. March 4, 2010 12:13 pm

    Nice! And very cool card indeed!

  3. March 4, 2010 12:45 pm

    You need no correction it was indeed the 14th Mute single, this was before acts had their own sub sets of catalogue numbers (like Bong or Yaz). Interestingly this is the first DM single I bought in its first week of release, a while before it charted. Played it and the B-Side to death and bought the 12″ version too. Always been a nerd. The first Mute release I bought was Mute 3 “Memphis Tennessee” By Silicon Teens (AKA Daniel Miller). One day I shall bore you further with such triviality!

    Your ‘Just can’t get enough’ doesn’t look English to me, we had paper labels (like the ‘New Life’) one, this is possibly another European country?

  4. March 4, 2010 3:13 pm

    What a frackin’ awesome score Laura!!!! I’m am totally jealous, but in a good, happy for you way. The pressed tin card is very pretty also.

  5. March 4, 2010 5:40 pm

    I knew these discs would be in a better home with you Laura!

    @Andrew: I believe this was the French pressing of “Just Can’t Get Enough” that made it’s way over the Channel to Worthing (where I purchased both, all those years ago).

  6. March 4, 2010 7:17 pm

    I always dreamed this day would come… when the blog readers started talking to each other in the comments. I’m a little teary-eyed at the moment… sniff. I feel like a proud mama!

    A French single? This just keeps getting better and better.

  7. March 4, 2010 7:21 pm

    I do prefer the UK paper labels. And early DM sleeves were so lovely, although it did go horribly wrong with ‘The Meaning of Love” and “See You”. I do miss Brian Griffin’s great photos and Martyn Atkins’ and Neville Brody’s graphic design. Anton Corbijn really doesn’t do it for me but you already knew that!

    Now stop weeping Laura, and post some more things for us to nerd out over!

Leave a Reply

