Skip to content

SOP039 – Hungry Lucy Presents: How to Use Your Mouth-hole

February 28, 2010

Listen online

Download

This month we have tea and a deliciously lengthy chat with trip-hop duo Hungry Lucy. Warren and Christa Belle give a peek into the magical world of the creative process behind their new album Pulse of the Earth. Highlights include fake meat, Star Wars, the independent film Ink and Alan Wilder’s triumphant return to Depeche Mode. And you thought it would never happen… Oh ye of little faith!

Show Notes

Music Guide
“Project 2 Alt”
Artist: Neil Smith
http://Neilsmithmusic.com
http://www.myspace.com/neilfsmith

“Bumble”
“Simone”
“Hill”
Artist: Hungry Lucy
Album: Pulse of the Earth
http://hungrylucy.com
http://hungrylucy.bandcamp.com/album/pulse-of-the-earth
iTunes

Hungry Lucy also produces their own most excellent podcast: Tea with Hungry Lucy.

Miscellaneous Links and Goodies
Do you Twitter? Swell! Follow us at http://twitter.com/smithsocc.

Ink
http://www.doubleedgefilms.com

Gallery of Guys Neil Finds Attractive

The obligatory Depeche Mode Link
http://www.depechemode.com

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2010 6:05 pm

    promise I won’t google “Laura Smith is pregnant with Martin L. Gore’s two headed love child”. Loved the podcast!

  2. March 2, 2010 12:44 pm

    The music by Hungry Lucy was lovely, interesting to hear you all talking about influences and other nice music. If you aren’t aware of Nicola Hitchcock, definitely check her out. She used to be the singer in Mandalay, they were fabulous too (one album produced by Guy Sigsworth who was half of Frou Frou with Imogen Heap).

    On this occasion I am with Neil on his slice of man meat this month πŸ˜‰ Gerard Butler is lovely to look at and also seems like a really nice person, quite a shock to hear his real voice – Scottish! I saw him last in a film called ‘Gamer’, kind of like the Running Man.

    Speaking of meat, I eat meat substitutes usually when I’m at barbecues and everyone else is having burgers and stuff just to simplify things, although if you are an ethical veggie then I see no issue with eating fake meat, love the taste, hate the cruelty. I don’t like the taste though and that fake bacon is a horrible as I remember the real stuff tasting, just a bit more like cardboard that salty flesh. Bleurgh!

    I won a prize, thanks so much folks. That is very kind of you. I am definitely going to do some Google searches for your amusement so watch out for ’em!

    • March 2, 2010 1:12 pm

      Was that you with “smiths occasional + martin gore + prosth”? It was cut off. Mad Googlers are limited to 36 characters FYI.

      I always take your musical recommendations to heart, as should anyone else reading this. Andrew is a master!

      Thanks for weighing in on the fake meat issue. I occasionally have a veggie burger, so I understand. Lots of lettuce, tomato and some condiments and it is quite yum. I have your mailing info, so you prize will be on its way soon!

  3. March 3, 2010 5:49 pm

    I really should stop listening to this at work. I’m giggling out loud in the office and everyone else thinks I’ve lost it. Thanks for introducing me to Hungry Lucy – this podcast is forming an integral component of my continuing musical education.

    • March 3, 2010 6:04 pm

      That’s our goal – to make people at work look like fools! Yes! *insert fist pump here* Hope you don’t bust a gut when you get to the end – hint, hint.

      Glad you like Hungry Lucy! There’s just so much good music out there online that I find almost by accident. That’s how I found them, and it turned out they were in my own town. Ironic.

  4. March 3, 2010 6:02 pm

    Oh, and I love the Orchidhunter: the Geneticist jokes you made. Hysterically funny. Perhaps I should host my own nature documentary series on TV? And I’m thrilled to have won something. Hurrah for more new music!

Leave a Reply

