Skip to content

Cheddar Scallion Biscuits

February 22, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry



Last week I was looking for a little treat to fill the gaping hole left by sugar. These are by no means healthy, but two biscuits weren’t the worst thing I could have eaten. At least that is what I’m telling myself. I am seeking out savory versions of the baked goods I love – scones, biscuits, even shortbread. For this recipe I combined my basic biscuit dough with some savory ingredients from a dinner roll recipe I sometimes make during the holidays. They are nice and buttery, and I skip putting on any butter when I eat them. But that choice is entirely up to you. There were even better on Saturday morning as a sandwiches with sausage patties.

Cheddar Scallion Biscuits

Basic Biscuit Dough:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 Tablespoons butter, chilled and cut into small pieces
2/3 cup milk
Extra flour

Savory Ingredients:
2 Tablespoons minced scallion (green onion)
1/3 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1/4 teaspoon celery seed
1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

In a medium size mixing bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, salt, scallions, cheese, celery seed and pepper. Combine well.

Cut in the butter. This can be done with a pastry blender or two knives. Mixture should resemble coarse cornmeal. Add milk and stir lightly until most of the flour is mixed in. DO NOT OVER MIX.

Spread a small amount of flour on the countertop. Dump out dough and gently knead a few strokes, just until flour is barely incorporated. The less you mix and knead, the more tender the biscuits will be.

Divide the dough into 12 portions and place on baking sheet. This makes free-form, rustic biscuits. I don’t use a round biscuit cutter, but you can if you want.

Bake 10-12 minutes or until golden brown.

Note: The basic biscuit dough works great for strawberry shortcake with the addition of 2 Tablespoons of sugar added to the recipe.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 1:13 am

    I loves me some biscuits. I loves me some cheese. These look like the best marriage of two foods since Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.

  2. February 28, 2010 2:05 pm

    Ooh, I’ve got all of these ingredients in my kitchen already. I love it when that happens. I am adding this to my collection of recipes. Right now.

Leave a Reply

