Skip to content

Epic

February 18, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

London was the place to be last night. Especially for longtime Depeche Mode fans. The band did a charity gig at the Royal Albert Hall to benefit Teenage Cancer Trust. And they pulled out all the stops. A string section for “Once Caress,” “Home” and “Come Back.”

But the most earth shattering, jaw dropping, pee your pants moment? When Martin introduced Alan Wilder for the encore. Yes, you heard me right. “Alan F’ing Wilder” as he is now know. Like I said. Epic. And the crowd goes wild!

Tread carefully people. We are in uncharted territory. The apocalypse may well be upon us, but rest assured we can all die happy now that the Universe has been set right.

Cute hug at the end, too.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Yellow permalink
    February 18, 2010 3:30 pm

    It’s incredible that Alan can still play that song so beautifully. It’s a moment to put a smile on the face of all Depeche fans around the world, specially being a reunion for a good cause.

  2. esliec permalink
    February 18, 2010 3:53 pm

    I just got home from London. Yesterday at the RAH was amazing. I had the best of times. Just after ‘ Never let me down again’ the roof went of. Then Martin came on stage and introduced Alan. I tell you, the whole venue exploded. It was all we ever wanted. I always wanted to here ‘One caress’ with live strings and I got it.
    This was a night I will never going to forget. I just ordred the live here now cd. The money will go to charity.

    • February 18, 2010 4:55 pm

      Sooooooo lucky! I am definitely ordering that show, too. The strings get me every time. Between this show, the raffle and the watch auction they are certainly a generous bunch.

  3. February 19, 2010 4:10 am

    Looked like an amazing show, Alan’s arrival on stage was a lovely surprise. If only Vince had appeared for the performance of ‘Photographic’ 🙂

    I love the Albert Hall, it’s an amazing venue and I am really excited about seeing Imogen Heap there later this year, got great seats too.

    x

    • February 19, 2010 7:31 am

      I think Vince has been to some of their shows, so maybe that isn’t too much of a stretch… I am amazed Alan had never seen a show since he left! Still haven’t seen Imogen. To see her anywhere would be amazing, but there? So jealous!

  4. February 21, 2010 7:55 pm

    So many glorious things happened that night. I wish I’d been there in person. Why didn’t I sell a kidney to go to London? Why? Why?

    • February 22, 2010 7:40 am

      Ha! Brilliant! Now you think of it! File that away for the next tour. (I did not just start talking about the next tour did I?)

Leave a Reply

