Skip to content

New Year… One Month Later

February 16, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

As the snow piles up and certain restless family members were mercifully able to return to work, it seems as good a time as any for a little accountability. You may have heard of accountability. Despite the lack of it in our society, I for one am going to stand up and keep myself honest when I say I am going to do something. Not the most fun thing ever, but it is my meager attempt at integrity.

It’s been a month since I wrote about my plans for the new year. Let’s see exactly how well I am living up to my expectations:

Creative Day
I have had one creative day so far. It worked out really well. Unexpectedly it motivated me to get my household chores and errands out of the way early in the week so that I could spend an entire Friday sewing. I got most of my quilted pillow project done. If I can get the taxes done in the next few days I hope to spend this coming Friday at the sewing machine.

Inspiration Day
I did take a day or two to catch up on blogs and creative sites. I need to be better about not checking these sites daily. It is just taking up too much time, as enjoyable as it is. I’ve fallen back into daily surfing, which can cause me to lose an hour at a time. Much more productive for me to read them a couple times a week.

Meals at Home
So far I have consistently made five dinners a week, except when we were sick. I feel pretty proud of this! Wasn’t sure I was going to be able to pull it off. Hopefully I can stick with it.

Financial Goals
As I mentioned, it’s time to get our taxes together. Then I can start planning out the new year. I have been thinking ahead about giving more. I really want to focus my money towards a few causes I feel passionate about. One organization will be raising funds this year and I plan to support that.

Spiritual Growth Opportunities
I am still searching for a book to dig into. But in the meantime I started reading Prayer by Richard Foster. I did see a movie the other day that was positively earth-shattering. I think I’ll save this topic for the next podcast, but it really got me thinking.

Sugar Fast
This wasn’t listed in the original post, but two weeks ago I got fed up with my complete dependence on sugar to get through the day. I gave up eating desserts, sweet treats and baked goods Monday through Friday. The first week wasn’t too bad, but week two had some nasty moments. Major crankiness. But I stayed strong. I kept telling myself that I could have a treat the next day if I really had to. That got me through. By the end of last week the cravings were gone. I enjoyed dessert over the weekend but found I could only eat about half of my normal serving before I got a bit jittery. I plan to stick with this for the near future and see how it goes.

So, that’s the accountability corner for today. Glad that is over. Enough with the responsible mature behavior. I’d like to get back to my couch-potato-reality-TV-watching ways, if it’s all the same to you. A little virtue goes a long way.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

