Skip to content

Spinach and Vegetables Over Rice With Feta

February 11, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

We are just getting over the stomach flu here – well some of us are over it – and some seem to be just getting it this morning. Poor Neil!

Now that I can face food again, here’s something that I made the other week that was really tasty. The greens are jam packed with vitamins, which is possibly why I only had a mild bout of the flu and poor Mari, a non-greens eater, got the worst of it.

This is a wing-it kind of recipe, so I don’t have exact quantities.

Spinach and Vegetables Over Rice with Feta

1/2 cup uncooked rice
1/2 large shallot (If you have onion on hand instead, a tablespoon chopped would work)
Garlic? Maybe? I can’t remember.
Olive oil
1/2 bag fresh spinach – I think it was a 9 oz bag
Crumbled feta cheese

Cook rice following package directions. While that is cooking, thinly slice the shallots and saute in about a tablespoon of olive oil in a medium to large skillet or saute pan. Season with salt and pepper. When the shallots are tender, put in some minced garlic. I think I put in garlic. If I didn’t I should have. Immediately toss in the spinach leaves. Let it soften for a minute and then gently stir. Continue until spinach is all softened. Season again with salt and pepper.

Place a serving of rice on a plate. Top with the spinach mixture. Crumble feta cheese on the top. I ate mine with a side of baked sweet potato.

Makes 2 servings.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 9:24 am

    Spinach & feta together rock. A very tasty combo.

    • February 11, 2010 1:42 pm

      Indeed! A local restaurant used to feature an entree like this and I finally got around to recreating it.

  2. February 11, 2010 12:47 pm

    Yum! That looks great. Whenever I cook greens I finish them with a tiny splash of balsamic and a pinch of red pepper flakes. Somehow it just brightens up their flavor (although maybe not just after the stomach flu!).

    • February 11, 2010 1:44 pm

      Great idea, Sara! I put cayenne in my turnip greens, so I’m sure some pepper flakes in spinach would be divine. Though maybe not today… A pinch of nutmeg can be nice with spinach as well. But just a pinch. Too much nutmeg is not a very nice thing.

  3. Erin Campbell permalink
    February 12, 2010 8:25 am

    I think we may have this for dinner tonight! Looks so yummy!

Leave a Reply

