Skip to content

Finishing Strong

January 26, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

So I mentioned in my epic New Year’s Resolution Entry that we are finishing up a few big projects around here.

One is that Mari auditioned for a creative and performing arts school in the area. She spent months gathering all the materials and filling out forms and doing essays. It was a really good experience for her. But we are so glad it is over! It was exhausting to spend part of each weekend on this. She actually said the audition at the school was fun, so I can rest easy that we aren’t pushing her into something for our own benefit, which I do worry about. Now we just have to wait, probably a number of months, to find out if they have space and if she got in.

Another huge project is that last Friday night Neil was extremely fortunate to direct a concert film for the band Venus Hum.

It will be released later this year as a DVD. I’ll let Neil share his amazing experience on the next podcast, but I will say that it was a two day deal involving multiple live cameras, behinds the scenes footage as well as an interview with the band.

I was thrilled when the band asked me to come up with the interview questions and do the actual interview. You won’t actually see or hear me, most likely, in the final edit. If you’ve ever noticed, most DVD interviews are just the band and don’t show the interviewer. It was so fun and somewhat nerve-wracking! The best part for me was digging into the topic of the lyrics with Annette Strean, the vocalist and lyricist. I am fascinated by her very unique way with words and hopefully you will be as interested to hear her talk about it as I was.

The actual live portion of the concert was filmed in front of a small audience of about 70 lucky folks.

If you want to see some photos that are much better than mine pop over to here and here to see Flickr sets by my friend Bryan.

The band had a great set up with three video screens and tons of computers and synths. Here’s a quick video I shot on the set up day, to give you an idea.

Now Neil is starting the editing phase. I can’t wait to get a peek at the footage. The camera operators were phenomenal, lifting cameras and holding them in the air to get just the right shot.

Needless to say the two days after the shoot we kind of crashed. Lots of movies on the sofa and naps. It is a great feeling to have gotten to do some out-of-the-ordinary things, but on the other hand, I think it is time for a bit of a break from big projects.

It’s all about pacing. And pacing is hard. Neil and I have another big thing we’ve been working on that needs attention. Plus we started another song for The Sleep that has been hibernating. All in good time. All in good time. Some rest and knitting is in order first.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2010 9:02 am

    This all looks amazing, can’t wait to see how the DVD comes together, I shall be buying a copy. You know I wish I could have been there so I won’t say it again, see you later in the year hopefully…

  2. January 27, 2010 9:49 am

    We definitely missed you! I saw some rough footage yesterday and it looks amazing. Can’t wait to hear it put together with the soundboard track. Your guest room awaits!

Leave a Reply

