Skip to content

Brand Spankin’ New

January 6, 2010

Laura’s Blog Entry

A nice fresh new year. Nothing like it. Don’t remember when I’ve felt quite so optimistic in January.

The really cool thing about having a blog is that it’s just another form of journaling. I decided to scan back through the last few years and see if I had already used this title but quickly got sidetracked by a couple of things. First was that I’ve been blogging since January of 2007. Three years! Goodness. Second was that none of the new year entries have been that positive. No wonder this year feels different!

I am grateful to be well this year. I have plans. Lots of plans. And last year I was too worn out to to do anything with those plans. In an uncharacteristic rush of good will (which is actually a VERY characteristic rush of good will, but has been missing for a while) I sat down the other day and wrote down some goals for the year. I know. Gag, right?

It just so happens that we are wrapping up some very long term projects right now and I actually see space in my life to start some new things. Which leads me to this topic – try to keep up, will ya…

What I learned in 2009

If you want to add something new to your life and your schedule, something else has to go.

Last year I wanted to start having a “creative day” once a week. How hard could it be to set aside a morning or afternoon once a week to do creative things? REALLY GOSH DARN HARD.

Cause first I have to work out. Then I have to put the clothes in the dryer. And do the dishes. And sort through a 12-inch stack of papers on my desk. And then, surprise, surprise, it’s time to pick up the kids in the carpool.

So, what’s the big plan, the focus, the modus operandi for 2010?

Have “creative day” once a month. Take a whole day, and don’t do any other activities or chores. I’ll have to plan for it, but I think this will be easier to accomplish.

Have “inspiration day.”
I’m thinking this might be every two weeks and it will really only take a couple of hours. I want to use this time to read, listen to music, look for cool stuff online, read magazines. Stuff that makes me want to be creative.

Make even more meals at home. Last year I got way more consistent with this. I want to try to add another easy meal or two a week. Also, now I need to eat all the food I saved in the freezer. The goal is to pull out something once a week. Two goals accomplished at once!

I also have some financial goals – to give more, to save more and to plan for a couple new expenditures.

Finally, I want to make a little more time for spiritual growth opportunities. The book Eat, Pray, Love had a huge impact on me this past year. I’d love to find another book to sink my teeth into like that one. Anyone got any suggestions? Leave them in the comments!

And just to show you that I am reading what I write, I do realize to make time for this discipline I will have to take away time from something else. So get this – I am willing to give up a small amount of knitting, sewing or crafting time to achieve it. Seriously. I mean it.

Let’s hope when I look back on this next year I don’t laugh at my silly self for thinking all this was possible! Surely I’ve learned something since 2007.

(And here’s where you, like Neil, respond, “Don’t call me Shirley.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

