Skip to content

Waste Not, Want Not (How to Make Turkey Stock)

November 30, 2009

Laura’s Blog Entry

Hope everyone who celebrated Thanksgiving this week had a lovely time. I’m sure that my hour and 15 minute yoga class before dinner worked off any of the extra calories I ingested. Yeah. Right.

As a part of my frugal cooking plan of 2009, I made Turkey Stock today with the leftovers. Sorry vegetarians. Can you at least appreciate that I made good use of the little gobbler?

It turned out quite tasty, so I thought I would share the recipe here.

Turkey Stock

1 turkey frame (ours was heavy on the dark meat as we don’t eat that part)
¼ lb. mushrooms
2 celery stalks
2 carrots
½ of a very large onion
5 whole cloves of garlic
1 teaspoon dried rosemary
1 teaspoon dried sage
10-15 whole peppercorns
2 whole allspice berries (or are they called corns, too?)
2 teaspoons salt
Water

You can use any vegetables you have on hand. These are just the basics. I like to throw in spinach or other greens for extra nutrition. Nothing has to be cut up. It’ll all be strained out later.

Place all the ingredients in a tall stock pot. Break up the turkey frame a bit to make it fit. Add water until the pot is about 2/3 of the way full. Not sure how much I put in. Don’t fill it too full or the stock will be weak and flavorless. It’s OK if the frame isn’t covered. It will sink down a bit as it cooks.

Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to keep it just above a simmer. I put a lid on for the first hour. Stir after 30 minutes.

Leave the lid slightly ajar and simmer for an additional 30 minutes.

Leave the lid ajar and turn off the heat. Let it cool until it is safe to handle. This stuff is dangerous! I let it sit a couple of hours, but don’t leave it at room temperature for any length of time. Food safety, people!

Put a large colander or strainer in a large mixing bowl. Transfer everything in the stockpot into the strainer. See why you want it cooled down? I always spill!

Allow all the stock to drain into the bowl and discard the solids.

Divide stock into containers for freezing. I scoop it out with a glass measuring cup with a spout. Less mess. I find 2 cup containers are the most handy and is approximately equal to 1 can of broth in a recipe.

This batch ended up with 5 cups of stock when finished.

Label and freeze stock.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

