Skip to content

Fall Knitting Blitz

November 23, 2009

Laura’s Blog Entry

Don’t know what it is exactly, but cool weather hits and the knitting mojo kicks into high gear. Most times of the year, sitting down here and there during the day to knit, knitting at Mari’s dance class, and then getting a few rows done in the evening is enough. But not in the fall. There have been days when I look up and three hours have gone by. Not good when you have a hefty to-do list sitting on the counter.

There are finished objects; there are new items cast on. Squee! It’s like Christmas morning!

First up, I knit a really pretty scarf pattern for my friend Michelle. I did a bunch of lightweight hats for a group of friends this summer. We are all going to wear them at the same time and look like some kind of a cult. That’s what we do for entertainment here in the Midwest. Anyway, what was I saying? Oh yeah. I did a hat for Michelle and she then asked if I could make her a scarf. We looked at patterns and settled on the Shifting Sands Scarf by Grumperina.

The original was done in sport weight yarn (somewhat light.) Michelle asked for an easy care, nonwool, so we chose Vanna’s Choice by Lion Brand. (All you acrylic haters just keep your pants on. There is wool ahead; I promise.) It was actually pretty nice to work with. It’s a worsted weight, which is heavier than the yarn originally specified, so I adjusted the pattern. I used larger needles (size 11) and reduced the width so it would be a comfortable seven inches. The larger needles opened the pattern up so it wasn’t too dense and inflexible. Here’s my lovely model Mari showing it off:

Nice stitch definition for a black yarn, don’t you think?

Another finished object is a pair of knee socks. Just in time, too. I’m going to wear them on Thanksgiving. Aren’t you excited to know that?

There are from a pattern called On Your Toes Socks by Ann Bud (Interweave Knits, Summer 2007). I bought this magazine because this pattern jumped out at me. I like to knit from the toe up because I can’t bear the thought of either running out of yarn or, heaven forbid, wasting any yarn because I made the top of the sock shorter than was necessary. Perhaps after a few more pairs I will have my specifications worked out and will be able to judge the yarn issue with more confidence.

I got the yarn for these at Purl in New York City. That store was one of the highlights of our trip. The yarn is Farmhouse Yarns Fannie’s Fingering Weight in color Sedona. The color is really bright for me. I generally wear black socks to go with all my black shoes, or white athletic socks with athletic shoes. Branching out these days!

Once these were finished I chose another sock pattern for my other pretty yarn I bought at Purl. This is Koigu in color P223.

The pattern I chose was another toe up sock, this one by Rosemary Waits. It’s called Fred and George Socks, named after the Weasley twins in Harry Potter. I love knitters.

I like the reverse image colors she designed. Mine will be only one color, but if I like the pattern I’ll do them again with stripes.

And if all that weren’t enough, and believe me, it’s not, I am still working away on the black Flirty Sweater. The sleeves are about halfway completed.

I really, really, really want to be done with this, but I have some holiday gifts that need to be the priority. I am doing a few rows here and there when I can.

Which brings us to the final item, a pretty cowl. It doesn’t look like much yet, but I don’t want to really show it anyway. Some gifts have to stay hidden.

I will reveal all after the holiday.

So that is that. Oh yeah, I’m still making coasters in between everything else. Whew. Not sure how I find time to cook meals these days!

What I’m really looking forward to is after Thanksgiving dinner, sitting down with a big slice of chocolate pie and knitting and knitting and knitting. Heavenly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. divy permalink
    November 24, 2009 11:11 am

    those socks = fantastic!

    i’m a die hard toe-upper. next time you can try two at once on a circular needle 😉

  2. November 24, 2009 11:22 am

    Yay for the toe-uppers! Funny, I originally did two at once on other socks. The concept is brilliant! But I seem to like the double points better. I think it’s faster since I am not wrestling with 2 balls of yarn and 2 socks. I am able to get a more uniform gauge on double points as well.

Leave a Reply

