Skip to content

Have I Told You Lately About My Knitting?

September 24, 2009

Laura’s Blog Entry

No? Well then. Let’s remedy that, shall we.

First of all, any of you knitters or crocheters out there – are you on Ravelry? (For the non-yarn-types who are still reading – Ravelry is an online community for fiber fiends who like to play with sticks and strings and make stuff.)

If you are, please friend me, if you like to do that sort of thing. I am still a bit overwhelmed by the magnitude of the site and what it has to offer. I do enjoy looking at what everyone else is working on, so if like to share you can find me here.

OK, so I have more projects going at one time than ever before. And I am fully prepared to justify every single one, so there.

The work continues on the Flirty Sweater. (Yes, this is the same photo as before. Doesn’t look different now, except bigger. Not worth photographing.)

I now have almost completed the two front panels. I will just need to knit the sleeves and I’ll be done. It’s slow going because there are lots of decreases for the shaping and I can’t really work on it unless I am well-rested and have a block of time to focus. Which hasn’t been happening lately. I’ve been busy going out for cocktails with the girls, OK? We call it a “bookclub” but whatever.

Next up is the Market Bag. FINISHED! I SAID, FINISHED!

I would make this again. It is a little hard on the hands because cotton isn’t the most flexible fiber to work with, but I really like the sturdy bottom of the bag and the lacey mesh body. Gotta get this one ready to be sent out as it is a birthday gift.

I am plugging away on the On-Your-Toes socks with my fancy-schmancy New York vacation yarn.

These have been pretty smooth. I had to make some design decisions because the pattern isn’t specific about the increases at the back of the leg, but I figured it out. I like them a lot. About six more inches or so and I’ll be done with the first one.

After trying to knit two socks on two circulars, I think I prefer doing one at a time on double points. The two needles and two balls of yarn are just too fussy to deal with. From all my work knitting coaster on double pointed needles I can really zip around and around on just one sock at a time much more quickly. Plus I could see this being portable if I were doing an easier, more simple pattern.

The Napalese Tote Bag is really beautiful. I finished the front and back. Picking up all the stitches at the top to do the welting drove me nuts, so currently it is in time out until I have a afternoon to devote to it.

See, a lot of projects! But I did finish something else. The baby blanket I started on vacation is finished and sent off, mere weeks after the baby was born.

Finally, I am working on another gift.

Not sure who this one will be for, but it is sparkly and fancy. (No I’m not knitting for Martin Gore. I leave that to the Knit-Head girls.)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 9:59 pm

    I enjoy looking at what everyone is working on here and I like your creations as well. The Napalese Tote Bag is indeed beautiful.

  2. September 24, 2009 10:50 pm

    Wow, you’ve been busy! I’m so impressed with the Nepalese bag.

  3. September 25, 2009 6:48 am

    Thanks, Ladies! Summer did allow for some good knitting time. Don’t seem to have as much now – I’ve got that fall burst of productivity around the house. Time to crank on the sweater this weekend!

  4. Alyce permalink
    December 13, 2009 11:24 am

    I love the ecru market bag and the lime green baby blanket. Could you post the links to the patterns please? I checked Ravelry for market bags by Lion Brand, but I’m having a difficult time finding the same pattern.

    You do beautiful work – thanks for sharing!
    Alyce

  5. Carolyn permalink
    December 20, 2009 6:14 pm

    Hi:
    Does anyone out there have a pattern for a felted crocheted purse? I am just looking for an easy purse pattern….when finished being washed or poured on with hot water, approximately 10-12″ wide and about 8-10″ high.
    Thanks so much…….

Leave a Reply

