Skip to content

Journaling

September 9, 2009

Laura’s Blog Entry


Writing in journals has been something I have done since I was a child. I am still strangely giddy at the sight of a new, blank book, waiting to be filled with words.

I’ve never written on a daily schedule. It’s more of an “as needed” basis. When I am wrestling with something, it’s always been useful to write it out. Something about the act of putting physical words on paper triggers something in my brain that allows me to see things that weren’t initially obvious.

The last few years my journaling has fallen by the wayside. Or at least I thought it had. As I was reading some of my favorite blogs online I had an insight: My journaling hasn’t really stopped. It has just taken the form of my own blog. The process of writing here has provided a new medium to work things out in print. A somewhat public medium, but a medium nonetheless.

What I realize, though, is that there are some issues that I won’t broadcast to the interwebs. If I want to continue to grow, I’m going to have to get out the pen and paper and get to it. There is a brand new composition book just waiting to be filled and thoughts and feelings that need to be processed.

If you’d like to be inspired to do some nontraditional journaling, check out creative blogs Art Slam and Turning*Turning. While I work in words alone, making something visual might be a more effective approach for you.

Thanks especially to Mal of Turning*Turning who has been prodding me to get back to journaling. She was right, or course. Thanks, Mal.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2009 10:46 am

    You are such a rockstar. I hope you get back to journaling. I have committed to doing it daily, just so I never forget just how awesome life really is.

    • September 9, 2009 10:55 am

      Why thank you! I’ve been sitting down 2-3 times a week lately and trying to focus. I’ve jotted down some weird dreams as well. Sometimes that helps me see an obvious pattern that is forming somewhere deep in my brain! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. September 9, 2009 2:22 pm

    I’m inspired by you, too!

    The thing that has worked for me is never over-regimenting, over-glorifying, or over-penalizing with my journaling. I had to make a commitment to myself as a teenager — that I would not play “catch-up” with my journal or start entries with apologies for not writing. My journal is a happy place, not a place for self-punishment.

    I can recommend some reading if you’re interested in dabbling a bit with visual components. See if it works for you…? If not, no big. 🙂

    • September 9, 2009 3:28 pm

      I’d be interested, if you don’t mind posting links here in the comments. That way everyone can benefit. Very generous of you, as usual!

Leave a Reply

