Skip to content

In Search Of… The Queen City’s Best New York Style Pizza – Part 5

June 17, 2009

Neil’s Blog Entry

I know it’s been a while since I blogged about my quest for the best New York style pizza in Cincinnati and well… that’s it. That’s all you get. An acknowledgement. No apologies. I know it’s been a while. Deal with it.

Anyway, onto the search. My most recent stop has proved to be, in my humble opinion, the last. The best New York style pizza in Cincinnati has been found! I say again, “The best New York style pizza in Cincinnati has been found!” Now, I have about three more places to visit and I will indeed do so in order to be fair to the quest… but to be honest, I don’t think I’ll find anything that compares to our most recent find.

Stop #5 – Noce’s Pizzeria

Noce’s wasn’t even on my list. It was referred to me via a comment on one of my earlier pizza entries by Shaina and was recommended with such gusto that I had to try it. So Laura, Mari and I loaded ourselves into the Prius and headed out.

Noce’s Pizzeria is located at 4105 North Bend Road in Cheviot, which is on the west side of Cincinnati. It was about a 20-minute drive and so by the time we got there, we were all very hungry. It’s a small restaurant with only a handful of tables. It was very clean and cozy. We ordered a large cheese pizza and three drinks. The total bill was $14.48.

After a while, the pizza came out and it looked just like the pizza I grew up with. But what about the taste? Absolutely perfect! The sauce was perfect. The crust was perfect. The oregano and cheese and everything else was perfect. Laura and I simultaneously exclaimed with delight after the first bite that it was exactly like the pizza I grew up loving.

While eating, I asked the guys behind the counter to tell me the story of the restaurant. They said Noce’s Pizzeria was started by four people – three of whom grew up in New York – who missed the “neighborhood pizzeria where you could get a slice and hang out with some friends.” So they built one here in Cincinnati where they all live now.

I believe I have found the best New York style pizza in Cincinnati. In fact, I am prepared to say that officially – say it with me kids – “Noce’s Pizzeria is the best New York style pizza in Cincinnati.” I give Noce’s my highest recommendation and my highest praise. If you, dear reader, ever have a hankerin’ for a slice or two of the best pizza this side of Syracuse, the head on out to the west side for the best. Now, like I said before, I do plan on visiting the three places left on my list – but let’s just say I’m not as motivated as I once was before. But in the words of Cameron Frye, “I’ll go. I’ll go. I’ll go. I’ll go.”

Oh yeah, and extra special thanks to Shaina for turning me on to this great pizza joint.

Still with no pithy catchphrase,
Neil

PS – “Hey Neil, what about Balboa’s? I thought you said THEY had the perfect slice?”

Tis true, dear reader of the razor-sharp recall… but alas, I have some bad news. I’ve since been to Balboa’s two more times – once with Laura and once by my lonesome – and, truth be told, it was not nearly as good as I remembered. The second and third pizzas were very dry and tasted like they had been reheated one too many times. My thought is that the first time I had Balboa’s, I inadvertently ordered extra cheese and I think this gave the pizza a taste of freshness that just wasn’t there in subsequent visits. So I’m sorry, but I have to knock Balboa’s down a peg or two on my list. But hey, let’s remember they do have great cheesesteaks and you can’t dislike anybody who keeps Tastykakes in stock.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. tony permalink
    June 17, 2009 6:55 pm

    so, in the light of the ps, should we wait for a return trip and endorsement confirmation before applying for a west side passport to make the trip?

  2. June 18, 2009 6:54 pm

    No. Since Laura went with me, she can attest to the amazingness of Noce’s. No return trip is required – but many are planned anyway!

  3. August 13, 2009 5:51 pm

    I wish I would have seen this post before I went back to Cinci to visit last month. The only other good pizza place I remember from when I lived there is Dewey’s.

    PS. Found your blog while ego-surfing. The similarities are too numerous to list.

    • August 13, 2009 6:47 pm

      This totally cracked me up. So you are one of those “other” Laura Smiths who follow me around. We all apparently use the same doctor and shop at Organized Living! Love to hear the similarities… I’m weird like that! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Eddie in Cleveland permalink
    November 14, 2009 3:29 pm

    I am a traveling salesman who comes to the Cincinnati area. And I am the biggest fan of really good pizza. After many years and many pizzas “The-New-Kid-On-The-Block” and my favorite NOW is Noce’s. That’s it!!!

Leave a Reply

